A couple Independent Character questions... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Antonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    A couple Independent Character questions...

    A couple of questions having to do with ICs within units during combat resolution and assault...

    1. Does the independent character and the unit he has joined take the same morale check when they have lost a combat (1)? Or does the IC take his own and the unit he has joined take one as well (2). The rules state that the character can't leave the unit until the movement phase but also say that he is treated as a separate unit during combat resolution. This leads to my next question...

    Example:

    A Necron Lord joins a unit of warriors. They are assaulted by a unit of Hormagaunts and lose the combat.

    (1) One test is taken and failed. Both Necron Lord and the warriors flee together as a unit?

    (2) Necron Lord takes morale test and passes and stays in combat. Warriors fail and flee?


    2. If the IC and his unit he is within do take only one test together, does this mean that if it is failed the IC and his squad will be cut down together on a sweeping advance? If so, whose initiative is used? The majority?

    Example:

    Using example (1), the gaunts win the initiative roll for sweeping advance. Is the Lord destroyed along with the warriors?

    3. Lastly, if a unit containing an IC is assaulted / assaults is it possible to fill all base to base contact positions with basic troops thus preventing the IC from being involved in the combat? This would be useful for say a ... Necron Lord with veil who wants to survive a combat so he can veil his unit out.


    Thanks for the help!

    -Antonus


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Sorry, no BGB on hand for page ref's! :/


    Quote Originally Posted by Antonus View Post
    1. Does the independent character and the unit he has joined take the same morale check when they have lost a combat (1)? Or does the IC take his own and the unit he has joined take one as well (2). The rules state that the character can't leave the unit until the movement phase but also say that he is treated as a separate unit during combat resolution. This leads to my next question...

    Example:

    A Necron Lord joins a unit of warriors. They are assaulted by a unit of Hormagaunts and lose the combat.

    (1) One test is taken and failed. Both Necron Lord and the warriors flee together as a unit?

    (2) Necron Lord takes morale test and passes and stays in combat. Warriors fail and flee?
    #1 is correct. One test, both pass/fail together. There is a section dealing with IC's that states that he is considered to rejoin the unit before results are applied (ie, before break checks / sweeping advance attempts).


    Quote Originally Posted by Antonus View Post
    2. If the IC and his unit he is within do take only one test together, does this mean that if it is failed the IC and his squad will be cut down together on a sweeping advance? If so, whose initiative is used? The majority?

    Example:

    Using example (1), the gaunts win the initiative roll for sweeping advance. Is the Lord destroyed along with the warriors?
    They will be run down together, testing with the majority initiative (use the worst in the case of a tie). Always test with majority using the worst when tied for any kinds of tests like this (toughness, armor save, initiative...).




    Quote Originally Posted by Antonus View Post
    3. Lastly, if a unit containing an IC is assaulted / assaults is it possible to fill all base to base contact positions with basic troops thus preventing the IC from being involved in the combat? This would be useful for say a ... Necron Lord with veil who wants to survive a combat so he can veil his unit out.
    As long as you fulfil the requirements for a charge, yes, you can block an IC from getting to attack/be attacked... both when charging and being charged. It's especially easy when you've got a large squad with an attached IC because you get to decide the order in which chargers are moved (after the closest model goes first, that is). It's quite possible that you can block your IC from getting into base using your other models.

  4. #3
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by moob View Post
    Sorry, no BGB on hand for page ref's! :/

    #1 is correct. One test, both pass/fail together. There is a section dealing with IC's that states that he is considered to rejoin the unit before results are applied (ie, before break checks / sweeping advance attempts).
    That's actually a section in the Errata & FAQ, not the main rulebook. The whole thing is quite ambiguous and the roll separately interpretation is valid if you don't have the FAQ.

    Quote Originally Posted by moob View Post
    They will be run down together, testing with the majority initiative (use the worst in the case of a tie). Always test with majority using the worst when tied for any kinds of tests like this (toughness, armor save, initiative...).
    For some reason I thought it's always use the lowest, due to the entire unit 'moving' as slow as the slowest member. It's entirely possible I made that up though =).

    Edit: Moob was right, it's majority. I guess it's just really rare the majority isn't also lowest =)
    Last edited by InquisitorAffe; April 1st, 2008 at 03:41.

  5. #4
    Member Antonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Thanks for the clarification!
    -A

  6. #5
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    it is the down side of joining an IC to a unit

    on point 3 there is also a method of attack, eg: from last monday:

    Dark eldar combat monster HQ with retinue leaps out of a raider and starts to munch on a Kasrkin squad, this in only going to go one way, my step son is on the imperial side, he moves a SM tac squad and chaplain forwards, and charges into the retinue, being careful to avoid the Archon. net result of round 2 of combat: 3 kasrkin and one marine go down, but the entre retinue with one exception gets splattered, the DE lose combat, they are vastly outnumbered (9 marines, a chaplain and 2 kasrkin vs Archon and retinue - 6:1) and unsurprisingly fail the modified moral check, they run and are caught and run down: net result one dead lethal close combat monster, without fighting him
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts