Commander Weapons? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Commander Weapons?

    Hi,
    If i give a space marine comander a power weapon AND a power fist, what are the general rules for this in combat? Can i choose which to use each turn, do i gain +1 attack for having two weapons?

    Thanks

    Winter War Winner with:
    7 Wins
    1 Draw
    0 Losses

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    You gain the attack, but as you say, you have to choose which weapon you're actually using in each round of combat. You can't divide attacks between them.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Sparta! Exarch Thomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    198 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    You gain the attack, but as you say, you have to choose which weapon you're actually using in each round of combat. You can't divide attacks between them.
    To clarify a bit further, you have to choose what weapon you use each combat not round of combat (i.e. you are charged by Unit X and opt to use the power fist. You must continue using this fist untill you are no longer in combat before being able to use the sword.)
    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon

  5. #4
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Exarch Thomo View Post
    You must continue using this fist untill you are no longer in combat before being able to use the sword.)
    IIRC that is not true Thomo, you are allowed to choose which weapon you want to fight with in each round of combat. So if your commander charges or is charged, he can fight with the power weapon or powerfist (having to choose one or the other before anything more is done), and next turn, if that enemy is not wiped out he may switch over to the other weapon if you so want him to.

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  6. #5
    Sparta! Exarch Thomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    198 (x4)

    Really? Where abouts in the rulebook is that? (I'm not saying your wrong, just so I can go check it). The way we always play is that you are stuck with the one particular weapon for the duration of that combat - just like Fantasy (although this could be a tie-over from that).
    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon

  7. #6
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    As far as I can tell it just says generically only one type of special close combat attack can be used but you have the choice as to which one to use (page 46 BG.

    So if you have 'choice' here, logically you can choose a particular attack per player turn as each round of combat starts and finishes with those turns.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  8. #7
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Exarch Thomo View Post
    To clarify a bit further, you have to choose what weapon you use each combat not round of combat
    That's warhammer, not 40k.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  9. #8
    Murder omgitsduane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Melbourne
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,452
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    266 (x8)

    I didn't even know you COULD do something like that, I think I'd prefer to have a gun in that other hand though.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Firaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Subang Jaya, Malaysia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    The fun comes when you attach a powerfist on a jump-pack chaplain. Now you have a tank and infantry killer when you need to choose. Against T3 models the Crozius will suffice, but against T4+ creatures the powerfist is the way to go.

    Also, all that rolling a 6 to hit skimmers doesn't scare you so much (since you always charge them, you can reroll).

    I once took out a Monolith with my Chaplain assaulting it, one of the more fun moments I've had hehe

  11. #10
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Firaya View Post
    I once took out a Monolith with my Chaplain assaulting it, one of the more fun moments I've had hehe
    Uh-oh, you shouldn't have said that! Now the RAW thought police are going to haul you away for not using your model's base strength against the Monolith =P.

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts