Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, after looking through the BBB, it is explicitly stated that the benefits of cover in assault only last the first round.
So, just to make sure I won't get flagged for this, I could Legally do the following to get around a cover charge:
There is a unit of Khorne Berserkers in a forest; My brood of Genestealers is NOT equipped with frag grenades. So I string them out in preparation for a charge in the movement phase. Then, in my assault phase I charge the guardsmen in cover. Because I have stringed my men out, even with them all moving 6" only two are engaged with the enemy. The Berserkers strike first, then my two genestealers (assuming they didn't get rocked). Then, as pile in, the rest of my brood moves into contact. We strike in initiative order from then on, thereby allowing the majority of my brood to avoid the I 10 benefit the enemy has.
Just wondering if that is valid tactic. Like I said, it seems to be explicitly written that cover initiative only applies in the first round of combat. But this seems like GW would have implemented something to prevent this.
The even better tactic is to line yourself up so that you charge one guy at the one guy NOT in cover, and everyone else can only make it to him, or not at all, and then you consolidate in.
Yes, it is a legal tactic. Some people might call it unsporting or cheesy, but my personal opinion is that it is totally legitimate, and is playing the game as a game, instead of some flufftastic attempt at simulating war in a fictional universe.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
As MVBrandt mentioned, it's legal. I do similar tactics when charging things in cover, or try to manipulate the combat zone (keep it so only a few enemy models are in the fight against 6 stealers - one of theirs being the PFist so I can kill him without wiping out the squad)... Perfectly legal, just making use of good tactics.
(Also don't forget the outnumbered rule if you intentionally lose combat with synapsed genestealers. =) )
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; April 15th, 2008 at 21:04.
All legal. IA has very solid points with regards to the DT test. By the wording of the rules if there is the chance that you may have to enter (say, by seeing more than one member, who happens to be in cover), or at least roll for it.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
The tactic is legal, but as IA pointed out in his last bit, it is fraught with risk, -loosing the combat and fleeing and getting run down for non-fearless units, loosing the combat and being outnumbered for fearless
Everything you have been told is a lie!