Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A little fuzzy on a rule involving the Broodlord.
:: My regular opponent makes good use of the Broodlord being a MONSTROUS CREATURE (MC) in regard to his attacks not allowing any armour saves
1) Am I able to target the Broodlord in CC even though he is not technically an IC?
2) Does an assault involving a Broodlord block line-of-site at size category 3, as should be expected of a MC
Thanks in advance... i hate that rending bad-ass
The brood lord is not a monstrous creature, it actually IS an independent character. So you can single it out in close combat, it's size 2, same as infantry. The only thing 'monstrous' about it is its special ability that allows all of its attacks to ignore armor saves.
It doesn't get extra penetration dice against vehicles, and it does have independent character status (although it has to take a genestealer retinue, so that makes it less useful until/unless the retinue is dead).
Many thanks. Essentially, his Broodlord then needs to be in base contact during assaults to participate (because of his IC status), and i now have a new juicy target for force weapons. Thanks so much!
Independent Character, not a Monstrous Creature. Attacks are "Inhumanly Strong" which is actually the rule, and simply act as power weapons.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Though I wouldn't advice to attack the broodlord with a character of your own, the BL will likely rip him into pieces before you even have a chance to strike.
So during shooting a Broodlord is considered part of the Unit and can't be picked out as a target. In assault they have to charge in with the group but when figuring out the assault they are their own unit and can be targeted alone and the retinues wounds cant carry over to him.
You got it, the BL follows all the normal rules for a IC