Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If my IC is behind a transport (skimmer) can he be lashed by a DP or Sorcerer? I've read the codex on lash and it says that during the shooting phase the caster may target a non-vehicle unit he has line of sight and range to. However, IC status states that he cannot be targeted if there is a target closer target. Does this mean that because Lash stipulates a non-vehicle target the skimmer would not count as a closer target and therefore the IC could be lashed?
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left" Bertrand Russell
We bring only death, and leave only carrion. It is a message even a Human can understand.
Real quickly, I'm going to quote both rules:
"Unless stated otherwise, psychic power abilities are subject to the usual shooting rules, so the psycker must be able to see the target, all attacks must be directed against a single target, etc." Rule Book, page 52
"Characters which are not part of a unit may not be chosen as a target unless they are the closest target to the firer." Rule Book, page 51
This is a good question. My initial response was, "The vehicle's closer. The fact that it can't be affected doesn't mean that it can be ignored."
However, the use of the word "target" in the rule on page 51 seems to carry other implications. For example, around here we routinely ignore units which cannot be seen by the firer (as they can't possibly be targeted, they are not "targets"). The same would seem to go for the vehicle.
I'm going to tentatively come down on the side of the Lash, here. The vehicle is closer, yes, but it can in no way be construed as a "target" of the Lash. Since the IC rules on page 51 dictate that only closer "targets" protect the Character, it doesn't seem like this rule applies. Only units which are both closer and legal targets of the attack in question are relavent to the IC rule. Since the vehicle is not a legal target of the Lash, it doesn't protect the IC from the Lash.
I think that's the most reasonable answer, here. Otherwise, you end up with things like units which are hidden behind terrain protecting Independant Characters which are not.
Once again, the conservative, sandwich-heavy portfolio pays off for the hungry investor!
I had a similar, yet reversed, situation involving my Hammerhead with Smart Missiles and a Chaos IC. I wanted to insta-kill it with the railgun, and although it was the closest thing in LoS, I couldn't shoot it because there was a tac squad closer, out of LoS. Since my SMS could target the squad, and they were closer, no dice for my ambitions of disintegrating the Chaos dude...
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes