Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have recently played a game vs my friend's necron army, and I had wiped out all but 8 of his WBB models (i needed to reduce them to 7 for phase out).
I managed to down 4 of his necrons during that turn (4 left standing in total) and then I ended my turn.
He begins his turn and rolls WBB for the 4 models and only 3 get back up so he would normally phase out with only 7 models remaining from the original 29.
Then he claims that he can still teleport the squad through the monolith during his movement phase where one of the necrons got back up again and prevented him from phasing out.
I asked 2 GW employees and one said that I was correct while the other said that my friend was correct.
So the question basically is: Is the phase out number calculated before or after the necrons use the monolith teleport rule to re-roll failed WBB rolls?
Any clarification on this topic is much appreciated!
No, you had it right. As soon as he failed the INITIAL WBB's, he phased out. If they were still eligable targets for WBB (say they didn't phase out) then he could monolith them.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
The Codex specifically states the following:
P.13: "Phase out is calculated at the beginning of the Necron Turn after all WBB rolls have been taken." This is done BEFORE the Movement Phase commences.
P.21: "The Portal is used in the Necron Movement Phase as follows: .........Any models in this unit that, although eligible to self-repair, failed their WBB roll at the start of the turn and were removed, may re-roll once as they emerge from the Portal"
If the Phase Out number is reached through the rolls done before any Movement Phase starts, then the army phases out. The point is that these rolls take place *before* the Necron player begins his player turn. The "portal re-roll" cannot be used because if it were, then that would mean that the Phase Out rule was being postponed. There is nowhere written in the Codex that a postponement is an option.
If the Phase Out number was *not* reached after the WBB rolls, then the Portal rolls could be used.
Hope this helps.
Last edited by eiglepulper; May 19th, 2008 at 00:53. Reason: Dammit Tarzen, you're too quick!
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thanks for the quick responses guys! Heheheh............now time to phone my friend and tell him that he lost! :party:
For a bit further reading there was a discussion a while ago about WBB rolls and when they take place.
Here's the link:
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...games-end.html (WBB rolls at the games end?)
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon