Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Me and my friend were playing a friendly game the other night. While playing, my opponent explains to me that when I charge his squad he gets to make a counter-assault move, some 6'' into my unit. He also tells me that since his squad has furious charge, that the squad receives this benefit when counter-assaulting. After some debate I let it go, but decided to look it up the next night.
The rules state that the counter-assault is treated like an assault, but does not see any of its benefits, mainly the +1 attack. However, it mentions nothing about other traits and abilities that work off an assault.
Could someone clarify this?
Your friend has misunderstood the rules.
Counter attack merely means that they get to move into combat if they are engaged. They gain no bonuses - certainly non from charging.
So, once again:
Counter attack and Furious charge are seperate abilities and may not be stacked/combined.
Hope that helps.
As you said in your post, it does not receive any of the benefits of a charge, which is what FC grants.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Counter attack. if after you charged him, he had some units that were not in combat, he could move them into combat as if they charged. They would not get the +1 attack for charging though. But the BGH says that they do get any other bonuses they would of recieved, so the ones that had moved into combat would get the furious charge.
My Berzerkers would love that, but I'm afraid it's just not the case.
At least thats how I understood the treat it as an assault move.
Wakka - you may wish to check the BGB again, suicyd and tarzen, and by extension myself, are correct on this occasion.
You just move them into be engaged like a normal round of combat.
Indeed - it's probably better to think of it as a pre-combat pile in move
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon