Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Oh Mighty all knowing rules forum! I come to you with a humble rules query:
On Page 46 in the Imperial Guard codex it states that R/R Hunting Lances "Ignore Armour Saves" - would that include Invunerable ones?
Also, we're currently on the opinion that hunting lances have to be bought for the entire squad, or none at all (same page). That also meant they can't have special weapons, even replacing the lances. Can I check thats right?
I think you need to understand that Amour Saves are just that, Armour Saves. Invulnerable Saves (and Cover Saves for that matter) are a completely different cake.
So to answer your question, no they do not ignore invulnerable saves.
Last edited by Triumph Of Man; May 29th, 2008 at 09:35.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
Agreed. Invun saves are still allowed (tho laugh manicaly when you charge some termies mwuhahaha). Also if my memory serves me right you must buy them for the entire squad (like krak/frag options on marines).
Lastly i belive hunting lances are 2 handed weapons that get discarded after use so you will never get the 1+ attack for 2 wep but you could still take special weapons if they are 1 handed weapons (your allowed 2 weps ONE being a 2 handed weapon)
Its been a while since i read my guard dex but i think thats right. Hope it helps.
It's been revealed to me, and i do agree, that:
1) if you take lances the entire squad must have them
2) If you take lances you cannot equip special weapons
(as a useful aside it doesn't state anywhere in the codex IG how many hands special or heavy weapons take up. In fact, IG heavy weapons two-man teams have a heavy weapon, and neither lose their lasguns. (Don't forget to model WYSWYG though)
Sigh, what i said above was wrong but it has been a year or so since i read my IG dex.
After getting home and actualy READING my IG dex it says:
The SQUADRON can purchase hunting lances at +x.
Hunting lances REPLACE either the pistol or cc wep.
Up to 2 troopers WITHOUT hunting lances may have special weps.
So to sum up if u have a 5man rough rider squad u MUST upgrade the entire squad with hl not just 3 of em.
As for special weps, no it doesnt say if there 2 haned weps but if a plasma pistol is a 1 handed wep its fair to say a plasma gun is a 2 handed wep.
That was a bit of an anti climax.
(oh and also, for now anyways, the IG dex is still 2/1 on its weapons.)
Last edited by Pheonix Lord; June 13th, 2008 at 11:40. Reason: spelling
As an aside, quite apart from 2-h / 1-h weapon considerations, the Hunting Lance never gets a bonus from having 2 close-combat weapons. That's part of its special rules. Not really the point of the thread, I know, but it came up =).
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
If you have lances you just cannot take the special weapons, not even replacing them. It's no longer an option.
There is one caveat here: To use a lasgun on a flamer armed model (as an example) you'll be asked to represent it on the model for WYSWYG by most opponents, and rightly so.
Unless troops have access to the armoury, where they gain the restriction of 2/1 weapons they are not restricted to 2/1 automatically. For example, a Chaos space marine has 2x single handed weapons, and a double handed weapon.
The point that special and heavy weapons have no handedness is relavant:
If your Lt Shaeffers last chancer has a heavy weapon, (and access to the armoury with it's 2/1 restriction, as he has to be a specialist to be able to have a heavy weapon) he can take 2x single handed weapons - for when he is charged for the extra melee attack, or a boltgun/lasgun etc so if he had to move and couldn't fire his heavy weapon he can shoot the rapid fire boltgun. (Mind you, If they're that close you should probably have stood still and used the heavy anyway.)
Same with flamer/melta etc. (Demo charges have no handedness either.)
Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; June 13th, 2008 at 18:15.
Yhea well this is the fun of old dexs, there here to make a mockery of rational thought. RAW is useful but i tend not to play someone who gets anal over it.
If u want to argue ur point then heres an example:
Lets say that u wanted to give a flamer to a SM assault squad. They have BP and a CCW to start with. Nowhere does it say the flamer REPLACES the BP or CCW nore does it say anywhere that a flamer is a two handed weapon but if i played you and you tried to argue that the SM got the bonus for 2 CCWs still or that the flamer replaced the BP but u still get the +1 attack for 2 one handed weapons then id give you a very funny look.
Thats a silly example as its only about 1 attack but it proves my point and on a larger scale (ie 10 rough riders with lances) it does become a valid point.
Its all food for thought.
the new chaos codex has all standard chaos marines with a bolt pistol, ccw and bolter. makes them one of the most versatile troop choices in the game.