Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK so here is the scenario:
A squad of Tau Crisis Suits (3) are locked in cc with my Canoness & her 2 remaining Celestians during the Tau's assault phase and he wants to use his 6" of movement to get out of cc. The SOBs (I) is 3 or 4 I don't recall right now but it is 1 higher than the Tau.
Question 1: Can they even jump out of CC?
Question 2: If they do does that happen before the SOBs attack even though they have the better (I)?
He asked me, and all I knew was that the Seraphim can hit and run at the end of the assault phase, but he was the one with the Tau book.
We called the local Battle Bunker (his idea) and they were unsure of the ruling themselves.
What we did was let the girls attack first, and then the 2 surviving jumped back out of CC.
What was the correct thing to do?
Ye Gods no. Jetpacks cannot be used to leave a close combat. I'd go buy a suit army tomorrow =)
(p44: once a unit is locked in combat it may only make pile in moves...)
Jet pack jumps aren't pile-in moves =)
Affe answered the question correctly, but I just felt I needed to add in the following:
I figured it was something like that, but he was certain he could do it and I didn't want to argue about it.
But thanks for the reply.
Last edited by Wicky; June 2nd, 2008 at 04:17. Reason: Extra text.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I feel the need to interject one little note. Tau DO have a piece of wargear that allows them to use "Hit and Run". It's called vectored thrusters or something to that effect, but it can only be equipped to one model and even then only a Shas'vre or higher.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Yeah, I know about hit and run, but I didn't think the Tau had the option.
I was unaware of the vectored thrusters on the Tau wargear, but since it was a squad of crisis suits I didn't think they would have it.
I think the red shirts may have misheard the question and figured he was asking about the Seraphin and not his Crisis suits, since they brought up hit and run as well.
Wasn't really in the mood to argue the point with him anyway.
So if I follow this correctly the answer is actually yes?
If the suit in combat has VTs, an unusual choice but hey its possible, then the model can jump out of combat. The same also applies to the SoBs as if they have HaR they can also leave combat.
Not the open and shut affair that I thought this was at the beginning of the thread.
The answer here is "Definitely not, don't be silly, unless they can." Man I love GW rules systems.
Last edited by Hasten; June 13th, 2008 at 16:47.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!