Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hay guys iv heard that IFs cannot take command squads is this true ?
i thought if i had him as a IC then join the command squad in game that would be ok or am i wrong
I think the problem is that you cannot take the command squad in the first place unless you have a specific character that it is for.
I.e. A "normal" SM Captain is purchased, and because you have him you can also purchse a Command Squad for him.
Assuming you are using Scions of Mars to get the Techmarine as HQ (for your Iron father), then what I think you want to do is get the Iron Father (Techmarine) and an IC, and then get the Command Squad as an independant unit and join them together. Unfortunatly the Command Sqaud can not be purchased independantly. (CM Pg 21, Space Marine Characters 2)
The Iron Father (Techmarine) can also not be joined to somone elses command squad as only Chaplains and Librarians can do that. (CM Pg21, Space Marine Characters 3)
Really the only way to get a "Command Squad" is to nominate a Tac / Dev / Vet squad as such, tool them up and have him join them.
(I of course may be completely wrong as I havn't played with SM Command Squads for a fair while)
Last edited by Knape97; June 5th, 2008 at 15:45.
dam but thanks for the reply mate but i guess i can keep him with my vets ?
Although, if the rumors that 5th Edition removes the Traits system then pretty soon you may not be able to have a Techmarine as a HQ.
The other option is always to use a "normal" SP Captain and a "normal" Command Squad. Then just model the Captain with servo arms / whatever techie bits you want and call him Iron Father with no special rules.
double dam have to wait and find out o well thanks for the reply mate
The techmarine is allowed to *join* someone else's command squad at deployment time and for all intents and purposes can remain a member of it for the rest of the game. So if you bought a chaplain with a Command Squad he can run around with them and pretend its his =)
The rules on p21 are that he cannot be permenantly 'attached' to a command squad and thus not take up an HQ slot of his own on the FOC.
That could be a pretty nasty unit, however if you are taking a Techmarine with the HQ you would probably be better making it a shooty squad rather than combat so a Captain + Stormbolter may be better than a Chaplain.
Full Servo Harness, 4 Combat Servitors and you think you should make the squad shooty? Forget that, you could absolutely crush anything just in the shear number of attacks
A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little
Would a Techmarine with Servitors still count as an IC to be able to join with the other characters command squad?
No, they form a squad of their own. They're not like Cenobytes or Familiars unfortunately.