Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can an IG/SM army take a WH Elite Inquisitor and then take a DH assassin (and vice versa)?
The only requirement is that an "inquisitor" be present in the force. No specifics on what "kind" of Inquisitor.
There is no satisfactory answer to this question. Searchy will reveal all of the assorted viewpoints in their historic glory.
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...tor-query.html ("Must have an Inquisitor" Query)
DH assassin? Assassins for both DH and WH are the same.
Correct. The =][= elements of the DH and WH codex are practically the same (just wargear, psychic powers and henchmen are different). Death Cult Assassins, Officio Assassinorum Operatives and Inquisitors all have the same FOC entries weather their DH or WH. The rules for taking DH or WH hunters can be found in the allies section in both of their dexs, cant remember the page number though its around the wargear section, there its states what you can add. So for example:
DH can ally to WH, SM and IG
WH can ally to DH, SM and IG
SM can ally to DH and WH (remember if you ally to DH NO GREY KNIGHTS!)
IG can ally to DH and WH
You can only choose one of the above options so if I played SM I could add GK but if I play GK I cant add SM, its weird but it does make sense in that Grey Knights would allie to SMs but not vice versa.
Sorry to get side tracked, to the original question. To take an assassin (DCA or a Officio) you need to take an =][= first. In the allies rules you are only allowed 1 HQ, 1 E (amongst others) so to take an assassin (E) you would need to take the =][= lord (HQ). So to answer your question, no you CAN NOT take an elite =][= and an assassin, it MUST be the =][= lord and assassin in SM and IG lists.
Hope it helps.
Last edited by Pheonix Lord; June 17th, 2008 at 09:47.
The real answer to the question, though, is that it depends how much you want to push RAW interpretation (ie how much of a jerk you want to be! Heheheh, just kidding ;P). The OP is correct that the Temple Assassin entries just require there to be an Inquisitor in the army. It doesn't state the origin of that Inquisitor. I personally think it's implied that it must be an Inquisitor drawn from the codex you're reading, but it doesn't explicitly state so. Since you can ally one Elite choice from both the Witch Hunters and Daemonhunters, you could therefore take an elite Inquisitor drawn from the Ordo Malleus (since, as everyone knows, Ordo Malleus Inquisitors be the shizzle), and then an Eversor Assassin taken from the Witch Hunter codex.
Now, fluff-wise, these assassins don't 'belong' to either Ordo, being instead a third-party contractor of sorts. Both the Ordo Hereticus and Malleus are drawing their assassins from the same place by the authority of the Inquisition, so it does make a certain amount of sense that you could have an OH Inquisitor and a OM Temple Assassin.
So, as with so many rules questions, the answer depends how literally you want to interpret the written word of the rules.
Hope that helps!
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
Actually, it does state that it is possible to take allies from one Ordo in an army which already contains allies/detachments from another. It does not state anywhere that the limits on the number of allies apply globally, only to the particular force being allied in, so, RAW, I think 0-1 Malleus Elite allies and 0-1 Hereticus Elite allies is legal. Ah, lets add a Deathwatch Kill Team just for the all-round Inquisitorial par-tay! `Yo, MC Inqui's in da house!'
vs Marines - 2/0/1
vs Orks - 0/0/3
Huh never thought about it that way (i dont play WH so why would i!) It does make a certain amount of sense i suppose, it does say it must BE a =][= not a DH or WH one and if you can have the allie FOR chart for both DH and WH to be added into a IG LIST for example . . . well thats just mean!
P.S yep DH =][= are indeed the shizzle.
Last edited by Pheonix Lord; June 18th, 2008 at 15:56.
My Codex:Black Templars does not specify that the Power of the Machine Spirit equipped on my Land Raider Crusader must be the one from Codex:Black Templars. So why can't I use the Power of the Machine Spirit described in Codexaemon Hunters and use it to shoot it at different targets?
Rules don't cross between Codices just because the 'have the same name.' Rules and restrictions in a book are for that book. It's the same sort of thing that leads to claiming enemy space marines can use your commander's Rites of Battle because they're also named 'Space Marine.'