Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played a game yesterday using the 5th Ed. rule, Chaos (me) vs Grey Knights.. My opponent took 2 5-men Inquisitorial Storm Troopers for the 2 Chimeras, then load them up with a unit of GK and a unit of Terminators (?!?!) when the game starts. Is that a loophole? GK codex under Inquisitor Lord says, an Inqusitor in Terminator Armor may be mounted in a Chimera taking up 2 spaces -- so my opponent automatically assumes that Terminators can also be mounted in a Chimera taking up 2 spaces. Thoughts?
IIRC, the Chimera doesn't have any notes in it's entry forbidding it from carrying Termies, but the Rhino does. Probably because the Rhino was designed with Marines in mind, but prior to 5th the Chimera only ever had to contend with Inquisitors and didn't need to make the same distinction.
It's really only a GK related issue, as other marines don't have access to chimeras... GW will probably stop it with a FAQ, but until then, looks like the GK's get to enjoy the best medium transport in the Imperium.
Well, we know that models can be transported in dedicated transports, now. We also know that models in Terminator Armor take up two slots in a transport. So unless we have a special rule that prevents them from riding in a Chimera (as there is for the Rhino, if I recall correctly), then we must conclude that Grey Knight Terminators can ride in Chimeras, and take up two slots. I'm toying with the idea of making a list that utilizes this new rule, myself =).
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
Well thanks to the allies rules in both inquisitorial armies one could just take a 5 man stormtrooper squad with a chimera transport as an allied troop choice in a space marine army and then use the Chimera as a transport for terminators or what ever.
So for 135 points you chould have a good transport for your terminators...plus 5 storm troopers to hold in a safe place and capture objectives.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public
The only thing that I can see wrong with this depends on how you meant your "loaded them up when the game starts."
If the termies started the game in the transport, it was illegal. If they merely mounted the transport during the first turn, then that's legal.
I could just be missing something here, but wouldn't the two Chimeras in the above example be dedicated transports for the ISTs, so regardless of whether or not you could theoretically cram terminators into them, only the ISTs would be allowed to use these particular transports?
EDIT: Nevermind, I see this is a 5th Ed thing.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
The point about dedicated transports in 5th Ed when starting the game is that should you wish to have a unit actually mounted *inside* before turn one, then it has to be the unit for which the transport was purchased. Once turn one is under way, that restriction is removed. So if your Chimera is sitting there empty at the start of your turn, then your Termies could mount up.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
how about this.. Tau Broadside mounting up inside a devilfish, since it's not a Jetpack troop and they are on foot? With Advanced Stabilization System, it can dismount and shoot its railgun at the same turn.
Chaos Obliterators mounting up in a Rhino since they are not wearing Terminator Armor, dismount and shoot at the same turn with Slow and Purposeful.
I'm finding this rule to be quite disturbing and killing the balance of the game. I hope GW will realize this sooner the better and release a FAQ that will dictate which models may be mounted.
*edited -- Ok, scratch those.. I just looked up Battlesuits cannot be mounted, Obliterators cannot be mounted in Rhino. .. but you get my idea.
Last edited by nekochen; July 4th, 2008 at 16:02.
So according to 5th ed rules, before clarification or FAQ, previously untransportable units can now hop into an APC as long as there is no restriction from the APC's rules???