Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have scanned the new book several times, and cannot find anywhere where it says that a Dedicated Tranport cannot contest an objective.
Is this right? or am I just missing something? Page references would be very helpful.
I think that they are called transports now they are not dedicated anymore. From what i know they should be able to contest an objective. plus if they have a troops unit inside they count as scoring.
Traitors dine in heLL.
I don't think they can. I've got no page ref for you but here's my logic- Only 'Troops' can hold objectives. Transports (dedicated or otherwise) are not a Troop choice. They may be attached to a Troop choice or even an upgrade for a Troop choice but are themselves not one.
A Troop squad in a transport can claim an objective, yes, but not an empty transport.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Paint Monkey is correct in saying that it could not claim an objective. However, it could contest, just like any other unit. Only troops can claim, but other units can keep them from claiming.
While Paint Monkey is correct in his thoughts, his reasoning isn't quite right, because a Transport purchased for a troop choice is actually a seperate Troops unit which is treated as an entirely seperate troop choice in all regards, this is an important distinction because the transport is worth an extra kill point.
What actually prevents it from holding an objective is the fact that no vehicle can ever be a scoring unit, even if you could somehow purchase a land speeder as a troops choice or something similar.
I know they are not scoring. It specifically says that vehicles are never scoring. My question is can they CONTEST an objective.
Becuase if they can, Drop Pod lists just become disgusting. Nothing in the codex says that immobile vehicles are treated any differently.
Pg. 92: Under the heading "Multiple Unit Choices"
it's rules for things like guard platoons but it specifically includes vehicles purchased as transports for a unit in it as well.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065