Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So basically, IC's are allowed to join other IC's to form a unit, but me and my friend have been arguing about whether or not an IC can join a unit that already has an IC attached. Are they allowed?
Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)
Sure, there's no restriction against him doing that
p49 of the 5th Rulebook, 3rd paragraph of the "Independant Characters & Assault" section even makes mention of "independendent characters that have joined the unit" (notice the plural form)
Last edited by Lode; July 13th, 2008 at 02:21.
Saying you can do something becuase there is nothing that says you can't is never a good argument, but um.... you can do this becuase there is nothing that says you can't.
Let me explain.
An IC can join a unit. The unit already has an IC joined to it? So what. You're following the rules, and there is no specific rule saying an IC can join a unit UNLESS there is already one there. Or do you think GW is supposed to specify every situation in which it can join the unit? Can the IC join the unit if there are only 9 models? What about if there is a Powerfist in the squad? Get my point?
So yes, an IC can join a unit that another IC is already attached to.
Off topic slightly, but what about retinues? Are they still considered IC if they buy a retinue? The book says that they are treated as upgrade charecters, in the same way as Vet. Sarges, until the retinue is destroyed, then revert back to their IC status.... or am I interpreting this incorrectly?
"Let them come and feel the wrath of the Hammer of the Emperor! FIRE!!"
Captain von Drake
396th Belruvian Heavy Infantry
Regimental Battle Honors: Medusa Campaign
Alma III Campaign
independent characters can join any unit provided that the unit the IC is joining ISNT a vehicle squadron or consists of a single model.
Example 1: Chaplain A wants to join Squad B. Squad B has 5 models in it. Chaplain A can join squad B.
Example 2: Chaplain A wants to join Librarian C. however, Librarian C is a unit of a single model. Chaplain A cannot party with Librarian C.
Example 3: Librarian C aquires a retinue, and is now known as Squad D. Chaplain A can now join Squad D. However, since squad D is a retinue, Librarian C will be counted as an upgrade character while chaplain A is still an Independent character. Chaplain A can join and leave the squad at will during the movement phase.
Example 4: Librarian C decides to have chaplain A be a part of his retinue. Both Chaplain A and Librarian C are upgrade characters. Chaplain A can no longer leave the squad.
Example 5: For some reason unknown Chaplain A decides to join Sentinel Squad E. However, Sentinel Squad E is a squadron of vehicles, so again, Chaplain A has to party alone.
Hope the examples helped.
bladofdeath3, could you provide a page reference to Example 2, please? As far as I know, an IC counts as a unit, thus another IC can joun that 'unit' just as he would any other, as long as they are of compatible types.
Other than that, your examples look great to me.
I'm fairly sure in the new rules 2 IC's can join together to form a unit.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
As for retinues I think that the IC becomes a member of the squad and wounds can be allocated accordingly. Only when his retinue is destroyed does he return to being an IC - roll on my GK Grandmaster and his psycannon toting Terminators.
As regards two IC joining together, I never thought there was a problem with this.
One of my ideas was to have a Grey Knight GM, join with a Terminator armoured+psycannon armed Inquistitor joined to an elite squad of Grey Knight Terminators. 4 Psycannons to soften up the enemy then any number of S6 power weapon attacks. Ouch.
Oh, and slightly off topic, greetings Wolf Lord from a small enclave within the independant state of Bridgford.