Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So the way I read the new 5th edition rules, MC's and Vehicles only get a cover save if 50% of more of the model is blocked by terrain or a friendly unit. So would a MC or Vehicle that is firing a ordinance weapon and is not in cover it self give a cover save to the enemy when it shoots through a friendly or enemy unit?
ie: a leman russ fires its battle cannon through a unit of guardsmen at a unit of gaunts. Do the gaunts get a cover save?
ie: a leman russ fires its battle cannon at a unit of gaunts that is behind another unit of gaunts. Do the gaunts get a cover save from there own models?
I've been assuming that they do get a cover save since I havent seen it specifically say anything about cover saves when shooting at an enemy with ordinance.
So if any one can direct me to where in the rule book this can be clarified that would be great! Thanks!
Take another look at the Line of Sight from the Battlecannon...
Does the shot actually go through the other unit? Does that unit obscure the shot in any way?
Is the cannon elevated enough to be firing completely over the "other unit"?
These are the questions you need to ask yourself.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Yeah, it's all about line of sight. If units can shoot the tank over other unit's heads using the "shoot the big one rule" the tank can definitely shoot all of said units with no problem.
Psichotykwyrm asks the questions that define these situations, but there are a few more specific, clarifying points to be made.
Ordnance is not Barrage. The latter specifically states it's lobbed over intervening models. Ordnance is shot straight at the enemy.
So, when checking from your battlecannon's LOS, do you see parts of your own troops covering any part of the enemy models? Then there's cover.
And in your second example, the same holds true. Does the closer squad of gaunts obscure the other ones?
LOS became more three-dimensional in 5th, so it's a little difficult to give definitive answers to questions of LOS unless you're at the game table. Just gotta use your peepers, and ask your opponent to check if there's any dispute, or questions about it.
Look at the rulebook
It specifies different rules for both
Ordnance Barrage pg 58 and Ordnance pg 58 and 29
Ordnance barrage ignore intervening terrain but dont ignore the terrain where the blast landed.
So yeah someone just answered that, but theres some pages to look at.
I might write like a ork but i fight like a poet.
Some one tell me they have ever seen a nightbringer die from a Nemesis Force Weapon.
Thanks for the replys I guess I wasn't really thinking 3D with my LOS and I'll keep that in mind!