Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Looking at the rulebook, it says nothing about skimmers not benefiting from cover, as all vehicles do. Is this different from 4ed, where skimmers could never get hull-down? Also, if I'm reading the "Shooting at Skimmers" section right (p.71) a Skimmer can become immobilized and remain uncrashed (so long as it didn't move 'flat out'), unlike 4ed?
Long story short, you're right on both points ;)
The rule about skimmers not benefitting from terrain was due to the way the area terrain rules worked ; true line of sight replaces it for 5th edition. This is why the book also mentions that skimmers have to remain on their bases and should not be modelled unfairly low to the ground.
Shooting through area terrain at a skimmer gives it a cover save......so eldar players shouldn't lament their skimmer power loss. They can't move as farand blaze away with every weapon, but they get a nifty cover save if they postion themselves correctly.
Heck they can sit behind a nice piece of cover and blaze away with all their guns and get a cover save if shot at (through the terrain of course).
Then again they'll give their target a cover save as well.
The not crashing if moving 12" or less is a huge thing for skimmers I think.
I see your point, but my thoughts were more that the 6"-12" falls into the slightly rubbish bracket of being only able to fire one weapon, while still not being able to claim the obscured save from going flat out.
Obivously if your skimmer only carries one weapon or you are only moving 12" for some reason it's great, but it won't do my slightly hamstrung land speeder tornadoes much good!
Maybe so but my paper planes aka raiders are loving it at the moment, mobile cover packing a plasms cannon equivalent not crashing and killing all passangers is brill! thought the new faq nerfed the horrorfex upgrade as it is no longer a defencive weapon (shame).