Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1: Can one unit hold more than one objective. I recently played a game where my 20 strong gaunt brood pulled a conga-line between objectives and I seems that they can hold both. True?
2: This is more of a vent for me. In the same game my opponent ended the movement phase with a plethora of units in range to shoot a unit of genestealers. After two units shot at them...they were all dead. He then turned two speeders 180 degrees to get LOS on my gaunts as they had no available targets. I, of course, protested. He claimed that in the vehicle section of the rule book there was nothings that says a vehicle cannot pivot in the shooting phase. I argued and he suggested a roll off. Being stubborn, I refused, as his argument seemed completely baseless. Any thoughts?
1) True (see the various Victory Conditions to control objectives (second-to-last paragraph))
2) Rulebook p59 will give you your answer (and the right to gloat and demand a rematch if you lost your game because of that ;) )
There is nothing on page 59 that specifically states that a vehicle cannot pivot in the shooting phase, which seems to be the only thing that he would accept. I realize that GW including arcs of fire would hint to someone that no actual movement is allowed, but he did not seem to think so. It does mention on page 11 that infantry models can turn and face their targets in the shooting phase but makes no mention of vehicles.
I do not want to make him out to be a bad guy, or trying to exploit the rule...i just could not believe we spent fifteen minutes arguing this point. The main purpose of this question is to see if anyone can prove his point or my own in any definite way.
And don't worry, I straight refused to let him.(seriously, could they not have put these smilies in alph order?)
In reference to one troop choice holding two objectives. Do people see that as being changed in an faq. It only takes around eleven models to pull this feat off and seems a bit, whats the word...cheesy.
Don't worry, even if a single troop manage to control 2 different objectives, you can still contest with pretty much everything, thus making the objectives not count...
And yes, Vehicles can only move in the Movement phase and shoot in the shooting phase. Pivot is a movement phase only maneuver (all explained on page 57, under the "Vehicles and Movement" section. The "Vehicles Shooting" section on page 58 deals with what a vehicle can do in the shooting phase and in all this section it only mentions the possibility of moving guns to gain LOS on enemy units. The vehicle itself must remain stationary, as movements (including pivot), is taken care in the previous page. After all, it is because of the movement a vehicle did, or not, in the movement phase that it will count as stationary, or not, in the shooting phase. It's all explained in a way in the first paragraphs of the "Moving and Shooting Vehicle Weaponry" section on page 58.
The last paragraph of p58 actually explain step by step the shooting phase of a vehicle. Note that it only tells to points weapons (as explained in more detail on page 59). Never to turn the vehicle itself, only the guns are mentioned.
I hope it's answered to yours, and his, satisfaction now ;)
(EDIT: Look at the image on the bottom right corner of page 58... you think that if he could have moved, that Predator would have done so as to fire all his guns toward that trukk? But alas, his right gun can't trace LOS in this position, so he can't fire at the trukk with it ;) )
Last edited by Lode; July 18th, 2008 at 05:33.
The point is his argument is a fundamental fallacy. There is by definition an infinite number of things that the rule book "Doesn't say I can't do." The onus is on the person taking an action to provide the rule that says they can.
Page 58, first bullet, in quotes.
"(remember that pivoting on the spot does
not count as moving)."
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
Let's also add in the point about the tense used on P.58 in the first bulleted point about Moving and Shooting. The verb is in the past tense. It is a completed action.
There is no mention anywhere in the Shooting section that permits a vehicle to pivot again. The only thing it does say about 'movement' (as has been mentioned already) is that the guns may be brought to bear (Vehicle Weapons & LOS, P.58 BRB, lines 3-6).
As for your first question about the conga line: there appears to be no wording which would deny you doing this.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"