Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I'm new from Korea. I have the Space Marines Codex (dont know edition... where is that stated?) and the 4th Ed rulebook.
I guess this is a dumb question, but I can't see what units may be used as allies by a space marine army. Seems to me it should be in the Codex somewhere, but I cannot find it at all.
Specifically I needed to know what Witch Hunter units can be used.
The rules for using Witch Hunter and Demonhunter allies are in their respective codicies.
Well, OK. Thank you for the helpful/quick responses. I just went and looked at the Daemunhunter Codex and I just want to clarify (sorry for stupid questions, but English is my second language):
It's not clear to me if I can choose Grey Knights with the option of Land Raider transport? It says in the codex NO HEAVY SUPPORT... But does that include the transport options?
Please, thank you for the help.
According to my codex, after a brief looking through the various Grey Knight options, you cannot take a Land Raider dedicated transport for any of the units, including Terminators. So you won't be able to take a Land Raider with your units for Ally purposes. Of course, an Inquisitor and his retinue can technically take a Land Raider as a dedicated transport, and for that purpose I would say yes, it is actually allowed. Interesting that I've never caught on to that one before... but the Land Raider definitely does count as a dedicated transport, and not as Heavy Support, so I can't see how it's against the rules.
Hi Lost Nemesis, Youre right it doesnt list transport options under the Grey Knights section in "Troops". However, also under "Troops" (of which 2 are allowed as an ally) of the Daemonhunters Codex, it lists Chimera, Rhino & Landraider all have Grey Knights/Terminator transport capability except the Rhino as an "upgrade"- so its not a free option - but isn't it one thats available as an ally?
The Inquisitor retinue transport options are great. Especially in a Chimera with an Inquisitor in Terminator armor.
You are not buying transports as Allies, however. You are buying units as Allies. A Rhino/Chimera/Land Raider transport does not count as a Troops choice, but as a transport. No Grey Knight units have the option of taking a Land Raider (or any other type of transport), so you are not able to take that transport with that unit. It must be listed in the unit's entry to be able to take the transport.
For example, the Inquisitor Lord and retinue has the option for their transport listed in their entry. The Grey Knight units do not. So for the Lord/retinue, you can buy the transport and have that allied as part of the unit; for the Grey Knights, you may not.
I hope that makes sense!
Ah yes, I understand now. Thank you so much for the clear and understandable help/info.