Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the dark angels codex, under the options for a deathwing terminator squad, it reads:Additionally, under Belial, master of the deathwing, it lists upgrade options for terminators if he is taken as an HQOne Terminator may take a Cyclone missile launcher or +X points or replace his storm bolter with a heavy flamer for +X points or with an assault cannon for +X points.The unit is composed ofIf Belial is in the army, one Deathwing terminator squad can be upgraded as follows:
-One terminator may be upgraded to a Standard bearer carrying the Deathwing company banner for +X points
-One terminator maybe be upgraded to an apothecary equipped with a narthecium/reductor for +X points.
1 Deathwing terminator sergeant
4 Deathwing terminators
Is it possible for the sergeant to take an assault cannon and be upgraded to an apothecary, given the wording above?
Failing that, can one terminator be an apothecary with an assault cannon?
Last edited by LLPaulJ; October 17th, 2008 at 06:20. Reason: Removed points costs
1. No. Specialists cannot take squad weapon options, only those listed specifically as available for them.
2. Only rank and file models from the squad can be upgraded to specialists. Which means no upgrading a Sergeant to an Apothecary.
3. See 1.
I'd believe that the sergeant cannot be upgraded or equipped with heavy weapons, I was doubtful on that point anyway.
However the dark angels codex does not state that an apothecary/specialist cannot be equipped with a heavy weapon. I know in Codex: Space marines it specifically states that in command squads only models that are not equipped with a heavy weapon can be upgraded to specialists, however Codex: Dark angels makes no such statement.
It also does not list what equipment a terminator apothecary has; just that one terminator may be upgraded to have a narthecium and reductor.
In the absence of anything directly preventing a terminator apothecary taking an assault cannon, I would assume that it is legal.
Do you know of any rules contrary to my understanding?
Furthermore, about Narthecium/reductors
The rules in the dark angels codex stateDoes this include himself? (ie can the apothecary ignore his own failed save)Once per player turn, he may use the narthecium to allow any friendly model within 6" of his model to ignore a failed save (of any sort).
No, you can't upgrade the Sergeant as it says Terminator not Terminator Sergeant.
But you can upgrade Apothercary or Standard Bearers to hold assault cannons etc, at least I have been doing it for a while. As they are techniqaully Terminators first then Apothercarys
I'm inclined to consider this an omission on GW's part.However the dark angels codex does not state that an apothecary/specialist cannot be equipped with a heavy weapon. I know in Codex: Space marines it specifically states that in command squads only models that are not equipped with a heavy weapon can be upgraded to specialists, however Codex: Dark angels makes no such statement.It's been a granted since 3rd edition. There might not be any specific rules to point out though.Do you know of any rules contrary to my understanding?Logically he shouldn't, but technically it seems to work that way.Does this include himself? (ie can the apothecary ignore his own failed save)
I'm happy to admit that it may be an omission, but there isn't anything in the dark angels FAQ, and no rule actively preventing it, so I'm content that it's allowed.
Wanted to check before I went and modelled a narthecium on a terminator with an assault cannon.
Thanks for your input
There is nothing that prevents two or more legal upgrades being applied to the same model (e.g. a Command squad Veteran that is also an Apothecary, Standard Bearer and a Company Champion, and also equipped with a plasma pistol, is permitted, if you happen to like putting all your eggs in one basket).
And yes, he can ignore his own failed save.
Last edited by Anacron; July 21st, 2008 at 19:25.