Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the anticipation and rumour and sneak-peek threads going round all the forums before the release of the 5th edition rulebook, one of the many things mentioned was that you can now shoot at a transport and then assault the unit that disembarked (something normally not allowed, because they're different units).
Now I can't find that rule in the book anywhere, so was that just false rumours or is it a rule hidden away somewhere obscure? If someone could simply point me to a page or agree that this exception doesn't exist would be great.
Well, yes you can actually. It's referred to as "Multiple Combats". P.34 BRB "Assaulting multiple enemy units" is where you need to go for the details.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
actually the 'multiple combats' rule would only apply if the transport is not destroyed, since you can't assault a destroyed anything.
However, yes you can. The paragraph you are looking for is on page 67, last paragraph before the box "Dedicated Transports"
I think what you're looking for is the "Note:" on p67, halfway down on the right.
I knew it would be somewhere obscure. Thanks all.