Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now if my Rhino attempts to open fire on a squad of whatever, during Night Fighting rules, and doesn't roll high enough to actually be able to shoot them does the Searchlight still light up the target?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
By what the Codex says, no.
The sentence "use the Night Fighting rules to pick a target but, having fired at that unit, will illuminate it" implies (at least in my mind) that they have to see the target unit in order to illuminate it.
After all, you don't want to give away your position, so you wouldn't go shining a light at something unless you were sure it was there.
Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.
Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!
*punted with a club foot to the rules forum*
Spambot kill tally. . .337
after firing it illuminates the target.. so no..
although if i was the gunner, i'd rather the light be on the target *before* i try to shoot at it
just think of the searchlight as tracer-rounds for the bolter.