Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As an FYI, I am still playing 4th, simply because I am too poor to buy the 5th ed. manual. If you could, please explain the rulings for both 4th and 5th ed. Thanks.
Say you have an IC and retinue. Are you allowed to "switch" models between one another outside of the movement phase?
|Just about 6 inches
OOBO<-------B stands for broodlord, O for genestealers
The terminators shoot at my squad, am I allowed to remove the first 4 models in the front line(provided he kills 4+ models) and still have my broodlord in the squad?
Thanks in advance!
Not 100% sure what you're asking, but I'll give it a shot. If all of those models are in line of sight and range, you can kill them off, and as long as the Broodlord is still in unit coherency he's still in the squad. Of course, if the models you want to remove are not in LOS or are not in range of the weapons, you must remove only models in range/LOS which means the Broodlord could potentially get killed. If models are removed in such a way that models in the unit are no longer in coherency with one another, then you must move them in such a way that they get back into unit coherency, come next Movement phase etc.
I'm pretty sure that's how it is.
Lost Nemisis has it right for 4th edition, except that I believe that you are not allowed to remove models such that they will no longer be in coherency. I don't think you can move models at all during your opponent's turn without a special rule. In 4th edition you may not remove models that are out of range or LOS, so the broodlord could die.
In 5th edition, that all changes. You may remove models from anywhere in the unit regardless of range and LOS (though you must still maintain coherency, no moving models). However, if the unit were to take 8 wounds, one of those would have to be saved by the broodlord and rolled seperately. If he fails his save, he must take the wound. If the unit instead took seven wounds, you can put all seven on the seven genestealers.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
I think I see what you're asking here. You want to take the front row off as casualties so the termies can't charge you, and you want to kill off one of the stealers in the back row and move the broodlord into his place in order to do so without killing the BL, yes?
If that is the case, the answer is 'no' for 4th, and most likely also 'no' for 5th. You are not allowed to move your models except when the rules outright say you can, and you definitely aren't allowed to move them during your opponents shooting phase for a more favorable casualty removal. Even within a unit, you can't switch positions between models except during actual movement.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
Can we get a moratorium on multi-edition rules questions? This thread made my head hurt.
Either way, no, what you're asking would be perceived as blatant cheating by any opponent who knows the rules. I think everyone else missed the question because it's so obviously illegal in both editions =) You can't rearrange your models during the opponent's shooting phase!
Edit: except Moglun who types faster than I do
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; July 28th, 2008 at 20:50.
"am I allowed to remove the first 4 models in the front line(provided he kills 4+ models) and still have my broodlord in the squad?"
i think that was his question. yes u can take the first four models since u suffered only 4 wounds. 4th ed. must be in range of weapon though. ur brood lord survives
5th edition u take any models u want as casualty from 4 wounds brood lord still survives so this means he didnt ask if he could move anything. and he never thought he was cheating like some mentioned,
Traitors dine in heLL.
He did ask if he could move them, that was the whole point...
If you look at his diagram, his first four models include the broodlord.
What he was asking is, can he remove models so that he is out of assault range (ie, removing the front rank) but still have the broodlord (which is in the front rank, by moving it to the back rank).
The answer is, emphaticly, no.
The only time you could switch models around like this, is if the two models are identical rules-wise, and you just want to (for example) remove a non- or semi-painted model rather than a fully painted model.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC