Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know this seems like an obvious answer but I have to ask the gamers, to be sure.
A squad of Assault Marines, are rushing a pair of IG troops. The squad makes its move, it stops about 3" from IG Squad A ( 6 men remaining) , and 3.5" from IG Squad B (10 men). Proceeds to Target IG Squad A during shooting firing pistols and flamer, scores 6 wounds (remarkably all from the flamer), IG Squad A is no more.
On Assault phase, can the Marines continue to Assault IG Squad B?
I can read clearly page 33. that a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only assault the unit it shot at. pg 34, has the Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units but it doesn't seem to apply as their isn't multiple units left, just IG Squad B,
You're right, you can't do it. If there was still one guy alive in unit A, you could have assaulted unit A, moved the first closest model into contact with him, then moved other models into contact with unit B, thereby also bringing into the assault a unit you did not shoot at, which is the exception the rulebook is referring to. But, as you said, there can't be a multiple combat when there's only one unit left!
Thanks, thats the way we played it, just felt funny with the Marines coming in strong then just sitting there while IG Squad B (StormTroopers) slammed into them next turn, they (IG) got pounded also, but its just felt wierd to have the Marines a-- out for a turn, cause they did too well.
It is rarely a good idea in 40K to shoot at a unit you're planning to assault. Just a reality of the rules system!
Yes, because even if you don't kill all the members of that unit, a canny opponent will remove the closest models, and that can put you out of assault range.
"Politics is the womb in which war develops"