Shooting, then Assaulting - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Shooting, then Assaulting

    I know this seems like an obvious answer but I have to ask the gamers, to be sure.

    A squad of Assault Marines, are rushing a pair of IG troops. The squad makes its move, it stops about 3" from IG Squad A ( 6 men remaining) , and 3.5" from IG Squad B (10 men). Proceeds to Target IG Squad A during shooting firing pistols and flamer, scores 6 wounds (remarkably all from the flamer), IG Squad A is no more.

    On Assault phase, can the Marines continue to Assault IG Squad B?

    I can read clearly page 33. that a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only assault the unit it shot at. pg 34, has the Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units but it doesn't seem to apply as their isn't multiple units left, just IG Squad B,


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Frank in L.A.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    You're right, you can't do it. If there was still one guy alive in unit A, you could have assaulted unit A, moved the first closest model into contact with him, then moved other models into contact with unit B, thereby also bringing into the assault a unit you did not shoot at, which is the exception the rulebook is referring to. But, as you said, there can't be a multiple combat when there's only one unit left!

  4. #3
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Thanks, thats the way we played it, just felt funny with the Marines coming in strong then just sitting there while IG Squad B (StormTroopers) slammed into them next turn, they (IG) got pounded also, but its just felt wierd to have the Marines a-- out for a turn, cause they did too well.

  5. #4
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    It is rarely a good idea in 40K to shoot at a unit you're planning to assault. Just a reality of the rules system!

  6. #5
    AKM
    AKM is offline
    Ork Strategizt AKM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    Yes, because even if you don't kill all the members of that unit, a canny opponent will remove the closest models, and that can put you out of assault range.
    "Politics is the womb in which war develops"
    Clausewitz

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts