Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
IG v. Ultramarines.
Leman Russ Tank behind a Storm Trooper Squad.
Does the Tank get a cover save? Does the Tank firing through/over the squad confer a cover save to its targets?
The Battle Cannon was obvious to both players to be well over the Squad, but return fire from the Predator was questionable.
This is a question regarding the 50% rule. As the Leman is a full 2 IG models high, but its hull is elevated by the treads a good 1/2 inch do they still provide cover for the tank?
Well, the rules state that the hull must be 50% covered. Period. No taking track height into account and such.
It's also from the firer's point of view, so I'd think that you'd get no cover against the Predator's turret, but possibly from the lower sponsons (and vice versa for the Russ). Of course, it's gotta be a good sized unit to provide the cover in the first place - 3 Stormies standing in front of a Russ is hardly enough to claim Obscured, but 7 - 10 men is a different story.
I think it would be a stretch to grant a Leman Russ cover from infantry. I suppose we could get out from calipers or something... I have that model around here somewhere. You can fire *over* a squad just fine, so infantry right in front of it wouldn't grant the target cover against the battle cannon.
It seems there's still the question do infanty in front of the Leman Russ (lets say a full squad) provide cover to the front section of the Leman Russ. The hull body begins at the waist of the soldiers, while the 2 soldiers on the outside edge are *obscuring* the treads. While the mid-drift up is cover part of the hull and none of the Turret.
We agreed on the Leman Russ's battle cannon firing out with confering a cover save, but it the incoming fire that the question remains.
If the squad can provide cover it seems a pretty cheesy and seriously cheap mobile cover as they move laterally then the Russ's weapons fire, then *run* back in front. With the squad never taking damage even though its acting as its blocking the shot to the Russ they suffer no damage. The fluff in the book refers to men being distracted, I highly doubt the twin linked lascannon on the Predator is distracted by marching band activities infront of their primary target.
It would all depend on elevation if any, and distance between targets. When in doubt use the -1 cover save that rulebook says to when it is questionable
The way i play it is that infantry can't provide cover for a tank, who'd be distracted by a couple ground pounders when you can see a giant metalic war machine.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Depends on the infantry and the tank! A solid line of terminators can certainly provide cover to a Rhino chassis vehicle.
I was just looking at the following refs:
1. P.21 BRB, Cover Chart: Cover Type (c): Units.
2. P.62 BRB, first bullet point of Vehicles and Cover: At least 50%...[...]...be hidden by intervening terrain or models.....
In (1), there's no specification as to what these units are. It just says "units", which include everything in your army!
In (2), it just mentions "models". On P.3 the BRB clarifies "models" as Citadel Miniatures used to play games of Warhammer 40000.
Looks like you might actually get a save from having a bunch of idiots - I mean, brave Stormtroopers - bunched up in front of your Leman Russ.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"