Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a bit of discussion over one of my IG army lists, I was told that barrage weapons might not be able to pin if fired with LOS. Is this true?
As per pg 32 of the rulebook (Damnit. We need a new TLA), inflicting pinning tests is not conditional on being out of sight.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
A normal Barrage weapon (mortar, tempest launcher) has no direct fire mode. It will always be a pinning weapon. Remember in 5th ed the process is exactly the same for shooting a barrage at a target in the open as for any other weapon that uses a blast marker. There would be nothing to gain by 'opting out' of barrage mode into direct fire.
Ordnance Barrage weapons that are mounted on vehicles may choose a direct fire mode. Either because the vehicle moved and thus cannot barrage or because the target is inside its minimum barrage range. In this case, as per p58, it counts as a regular Ordnance shot in all respects, and will not inflict a pinning test.
If the vehicle is stationary, and the target is inside barrage range, then you can certainly barrage with LOS and cause a pinning test.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; August 3rd, 2008 at 05:28.