Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up last night in a 1.5k matchup. My scorp-exarch has the claw and the scorpion chainsword. So... I want to attack at initiative and therefore go with the sword (per 5th ed, 2 special weapons=get to pick which one to use). Now then, as the powerclaw is a "powerfist" type weapon it no longer adds to the "2 close combat weapons= +1 attack" rule. However, here is the conundrum, in the eldar codex it says that the claw is basically a claw and a shurikan pistol and that both can be used in same turn. What I am getting at is this, if I use the claw I use the base attacks (2) + mandiblaster (1). Not bad for a claw. If I use the sword I get base (2) + mandiblaster (1).... eh, do I get the pistol bonus or no? + (1more)?
Any1 have an idea?
Remember that the Rules development forum is meant for people coming out with their own rules.
For Rules questions, you need to use the 40K/Fantasy rules help forum.
I've moved the thread for you.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
No you do not get the extra attack for two reasons.
Reason 1: It is not a pistol that is attached to the claw, is a catapult. So you can't say that the pistol provides an extra attack because there isn't one, and the catapult wouldn't provide an extra attack anyways.
Reason 2: It is a two in one weapon, Much like a combi-plasma. Those weapons don't provide an extra attack when you have a plasma gun and a bolter in ther same gun.
No extra attack for you
Eldar Craftworld Igsolus-Toc (reset for 5th)
0 / 0 / 0 3500+
Tyranids Hive Fleet Oceanus (reset for 5th)
0 / 0 / 0 WIP around 1600 points
The claw available to a striking scorpion exarch incorporates a shuriken catapult, not pistol, so I doubt it would entitle him to an extra attack, even if 1h shooting weapons other than pistols (which are rare and which the shuriken catapult traditionally isn't) are allowed to grant the +1 attack as some people suggest I think as part of a special close combat weapon that would override it.
So no, I don't think there is a way to gain +1 attack with that layout,
makes sense, thanks