Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I use my battlewagon as a troop carrier, would I be able to use it in dawn of war deployment with the corresponding boyz squad as part of the initial troop choice? Thank you very much.
No, as it's a heavy support choice. Dawn of War only allows up to 1 hq unit and 2 troop units. Even though you are using the battlewagon as a transport for a "troop" boyz unit, it's still not a troop unit itself since it's not dedicated.
Unlike a Space Marine Terminator Command Squad with attached Character who can take a Land Raider as a transport.... <evil thoughts>
There are two ways to take a Battlewagon, either as a dedicated transport for specific units (I think nobs or Meganobs, off the top of my head, check your codex). In this case, I think it would be included since I can't imagine how the 'wagon would be deployed otherwise. Since these are elites, and you're only allowed to place 2 troops and 1 HQ, you should also have the HQ choice that allows Nobs/MANZ to be taken as troop choice.
Second way to deploy a 'wagon is as heavy support. In this case, it is a seperate unit. I personally like to put burnas in a battlewagon, but with both units in reserves, I'd need to get lucky to have them arrive at the same time.
If they do arrive at the same time, can the Burnas unit board the wagon from the "Table edge" during the movment phase? that's an interesting rule question.
Kinda sucks for guard, as they typically have lots of units per FOC slot.
-> HQ: 1 Farseer
-> Troop 1: Guardian defender squad + Wave serpent (dedicated and embarked)
-> Troop 2: Dire Avengers + Wave serpent (dedicated and embarked)
(Counts as 1 unit together if embarked and is a dedicated transport).
So I don't see why you couldn't use a dedicated transport land raider if the command squad actually makes the land raider as a dedicated transport rather then a normal vehicle they can embark.
-> HQ: Command + Command Squad + Land Raider (if counted as dedicated and embarked)
-> Troop 1: XYZ Squad with Rhino (dedicated and embarked)
-> Troop 2: XYZ Squad with Rhino (dedicated and embarked)
I'm at work but I was pretty sure that's what their example was mentioning. Wave Serpents would be a troop slot if they are dedicated to a troop unit. Land Raider if classified as a dedicated transport would fall under an HQ unit. However, if you start the game embarked it would be one unit and not two units.
Basically when you deploy:
-> Unit + Dedicated Transport + Embarked = 1 Unit
-> Unit + Dedicated Transport + Not embarked = 2 Units
-> Unit + Vehicle = 2 Units
-> Unit = 1 Unit
-> Unit + Vehicle upgrade attachment = 2 Units
I wish I had my 5th edition rule book in front of me to confirm so I'm open for corrections.
Last edited by Errors; August 6th, 2008 at 17:11.
Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!
Nah - if you read the "Example" section of the dawn of war deployment (bottom right of page 93), you'll see it states:
... Player B then deploys a unit of Troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of Troops)...
So no occupied transports both from the HQ section starting in dawn of war.
so it does moob, ah well, that's that idea out the window! Seems odd but I suppose it's designed to stop us doing just what we are discussing!
Now, when you put things into reserve, you declare at the beginning of the game what combination they are in, and roll for them together. If you want the burna boyz to arrive in the battle wagon, you have to declare it at deployment, and then you make one reserves roll for the combination.
In dawn of war, things not specifically declared reserves automatically arrive on turn 1, they don't have to make reserve rolls (unless you did want to and declared them.)