Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Lets say i see one of the model of a squad of chaos space marines on the corner. my squad of guardians shoot at that one model, makes lets say 5 wounds. he makes 2 saves, 3 casualties. does the chaos player have to remove to more models? even if they're not in LoS?
Yes. This is fairly explicitly stated in the rules, though I don't have my book to hand so can't quote the page.
It is explained that in the spirit of the game the unit's members are not statues and will be moving around peeking over walls etc. etc.
Yeah, like the others have stated. But they still get a pretty nice cover save since their unit is mostly behind the cover.
It doesn't matter how much of the unit is behind the cover except whether it is at least 50%. There is no bonus for hiding almost all of your squad. It's always the agreed upon cover save unless the 50% is questionable, then you -1 from the roll. I guess you could think of it as killing off the guy peeking out, and then they guys who step up to take his place.
In friendly games, I have been known to use a house rule that gives +1 to cover saves where at least 80% of the models are hidden. It helps make this situation more believable and tactical.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; August 18th, 2008 at 01:28.
Yeah, I guess I should have elaborated. What I meant was that since it's something that completely obscures the rest of the unit it's quite big, hence quite likely to confer a nice cover bonus. And since most of the unit (over 50%) is behind it even the unit out front gets the cover save.
About that house rule, you're talking LOS right? Not just that they're mostly behind the cover? It'd seem a little silly that just because 80% of the unit is behind a tuft of grass they'd get a cover save bonus.