Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I don't get this. Make it that a soace marine commander has 3 wounds. And a squad shoots at the commander and the commander gets 6 wounds and fails all armour saves. Does the commander die??
How does a model with more than 1 wound die such as a commander with 3 wounds???
A model has X wounds. These are the number of unsaved wounds they can take before they are removed from the table. If a model with 3 wounds too 6 unsaved wounds, they would be dead (by 3 wounds over the amount of wounds they have). If a model has 3 wounds and they take 2 unsaved wounds, then they have 1 wound left.
So, a 3 wound model:
3 wounds takes 2 unsaved wounds = 1 wound left
3 wounds takes 6 unsaved wounds = -3 wounds left (dead)
3 wounds takes 3 unsaved wounds = 0 wounds left (dead)
This should all be explained in the rulebook.
As Lost said, it's pretty simple stuff, right out of the book.
The simplest approach is that it's the amount of damage it takes to kill a given model - take that many hits and you're dead... Any more and you're just, well, even more dead. Tougher stuff like your commander simply takes more punishment before it's finished.
I think that some confusion could be arising from the phrase ‘getting wounds.’
Does ‘getting a wound’ mean the result of an attack or is it a profile statistic?
One is a negative and one is a positive.
Now I fully realize what is being asked here and the subsequent answers are correct but what I don’t know here is the intended use of the phrase ‘gets 6 wounds.’
So it seems that the intended use of the ‘wounds’ is meant in this circumstance to be the result of hits and not part of the models profile.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.