Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just throwing this out there to get a general consensus. As it's a debate a buddy of mine and I have been having.
In the Dawn of War Deployment. It states you 'may deploy up to two troops units and one HQ unit'
The question is. Do you HAVE to deploy at least one thing? As it reads in the book it grammatically states that placing anything is an option. However this in my opinion seems like an oversight. As it would be not only unfair but quite against the fluff in the deployments description to start the game with nothing on the board.
So taking second turn would not only be the smart move. But one giving a major major advantage. As their turn one, they then have to bring on their army. And have nothing to shoot at or target in any way. And on your turn one you bring your stuff on and then take the 'real' first turn of actions. Also having the last turn of actions.
Anyway, we've looked for a FAQ. And decided to throw it out here. What do you think?
I believe that you can choose not to deploy anything. I think the main reason they might of done this is to let you have an option when facing a daemon army cause otherwise it is highly likely that whatever you place on the field to start will just get shot to death as the daemons would get half of their army to shoot at your 3 units. Personally I like the new missions / deployment types as they give more tactical option IMO / make the game more interesting.
- You must set fire to water or you will be extinguished.
Bleh still seems unfair. Especially since on your first turn your entire army sans what you held in reserve comes on anyway. So you if you have second turn your 2-3 units still get shot up =/
I don't think it's at all an accident that you're allowed to not deploy anything at all if you don't want. It's pretty clearly written. There are some pretty hefty advantages to be had in having first dibs on deployment that goes all the way to the middle of the board!Remember to read the entire scenario carefully! NightFight is in effect for turn 1 of a 'Dawn' of War. It will take some really phenomenal rolling for the player who choses to go second to do any meaningful shooting damage when his army comes on in the bottom of turn 1 to see the opponent's (not really so) exposed force. The first turn still has the huge advantage of having the first shots after night lifts.So taking second turn would not only be the smart move. But one giving a major major advantage. As their turn one, they then have to bring on their army. And have nothing to shoot at or target in any way. And on your turn one you bring your stuff on and then take the 'real' first turn of actions. Also having the last turn of actions.