Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
my friends and i have never been able to straighten this out. For reserves, how far in does the unit deploy and can they have a normal turn (ie. move, shoot, assault) or do they count as moving since they are moving onto the field?
The units move onto the field during the movement phase. You treat them so that the front of their base/hull is touching the table edge, then move them however you want onto the table using their normal movement. They can still fire and assault, but count as moving as they have moved.
What if you deploy a superheavy such as a Baneblade, for which the entire model may not make it onto the table using it's normal movement?
This could also happen for a model on a 40mm / 60mm base if it rolles a Double 1 (or whatever) for difficult terrain or slow & purposeful (i.e. Obliterators), what would happen in this case?
Sorry to complicate the issue but the questions just occurred to me!
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Common sense and people's interpretation of the rules tend to vary though. I would do this, however I was wondering if anyone knew of any rules to support it!
I'm fairly sure that the new book says if a unit doesn't have any room to come on or otherwise doesn't get on the board due to botched terrain roll or similar it goes back into reserve and tries again next turn. May the fleas of 1,000 camels infest me for saying so without having a copy of the book on hand to check.
A Baneblade? Apocalypse isn't supposed to be about hard nosed rules anyway. If somebody gives you grief about your baneblade taking up an extra 1.5", they're probably playing the wrong game. Just mention it before hand "Look, this model doesn't quite fit, can we agree to just place it with its rear on the edge when it arrives." or otherwise settle it.
For regular 40K, well, again if you're using forgeworld superheavy rules, this probably isn't a hardcore tournament game, just ask before dice start rolling.
For other large models in regular 40K, e.g., a Land Raider; yup, them's the rules. By the book, you either have to drive it on sideways or move over 6" and not be able to fire. That's just the way it goes. In games at the club, I tell people to just put it down with its back against the board edge and call it moved 6". In a tournament, I'd expect you to do it by the book.
Nope, it's not there, I must have been remembering some tournament FAQ or other. Oh well =(
(P.S. How the flea infestation?)
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Can a baneblade move at cruising speed? Never played in Apocalypse, but in regular 40k I know the LR can move at cruising speed. This matters since the LR is longer than 6". So either a LR has to enter the game my moving on sideways or it moves at Cruising speed.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."