Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When a unit rolling on the Alaitoc Ranger Disruption table gets to fire at an enemy unit (representing shooting at it before it is on the table) and the target unit is in cover, does it get a cover save?
I would say no, because it is supposed to represent them being shot at before they even make it to the battle field, seeing as no LOS is needed it would make no sense to allow cover saves.
The attack happens before the armies collided on the field of battle, so any disruption occurs some time before the actual encounter. Any casualties would be from various sniping while the army is on the move, or booby traps placed by the rangers to attempt to slow down the opposing force.
Is there a rule or Q&A that says that?
Where can I find it?
If it is an opinion, then yes I agree it makes sense, but the counter argument goes:
"There is no mention in the rule that they do not get the benefits of cover. If they get the benefit then this could represent them being ambushed before arriving on table while moving through cover, for instance in a wood - not an unlikely place for an ambush."
The second sentence is rationalisation, but the first is a good argument if it is true.
This eventually went to a coin toss that the pro-cover party won, but I would like to know if there is any official guidance.
I would've said yes, because I always thought of it as a shot at the Enemy before you came onto the Battlefield, not them. Ah well, just my oppinion. I'd say yes.
a GW "rool boy" said that they don't get a cover save since they unit that is being targeted is not on the board yet and thus can not take cover. It makes sense for them to have no cover save as the target unit is being ambushed by semi-invisable who have enough skill to find a weak point in artificer armour (think Preditor)
â€œSomeone I know calls a Sphinx a Sphincter I really donâ€™t have the heart to correct themâ€?
â€œSo you want to be made feel like a small boy and dominated do you? How about you dress up as Micky Mouse and Iâ€˜ll hit you with a baseball bat until you pass out or die?â€?
all the disruption table happens before I battle, is what I was ment to belive any how.
Tomb Kings, Marines, Eldar
Definitely no cover. Anyone who would put this forward is shifty <_<. The Disruption Table represents the Rangers/Pathfinders harrassing the enemy while they make their way to the battle area. They could be taking pot shots at them for days, even weeks before hand.
I think whoever put this idea forward was trying to bend the rules that little bit too much, evidently scared of the Pathfinders .
there is no way they should get cover saves... even if they were in cover the rangers may only have been inches away when they shot at them... because honestly... they're that good
but i would write the people at GW and get the roolz boyz to help you out... then PRINT OUT the email and take it with you wherever your rangers go so you have a semi-official ruling to go by
just for people who want to bend the rules... i hate people who try to cheat and then scream cheese when you win anyway... oh well
Ask the same question everyday during a week, odds are You will get a different answer each day. Roolzboyz aren't even semi-official, they're just regular gamers who happen to work at GW Mail Order to dish out some quick help if someone's having trouble with the rules. Heck, I've seen Roolzboyz giving answers which contradict even the most recent Chapter Approved clarifications!
Heck, there are more experienced players on this very board who can give clarifications on rules which are as valid as anything a Roolzboy could come up with!
This is why it's more important to discuss unclear rules with Your gaming group and reach a conclusion how You will deal with the situation. If it's not in the FAQ, then best bet is to make a house rule. If You go into a Tournament, ask beforehand how they would treat the unclear ruling and remember to print out the reply You got, so that You can show some proof if a situation arises. Even with proof, remember to ask before the tournament begins that all the judges are aware and agree on the ruling.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."