Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Played a game with Space Wolves against Demons. I had a unit of Bloodclaws and a Rune Priest about to shoot and assault a unit of horrors with the Changeling. I failed the leadership check to shoot the Changelings and he had me shoot at my own Rhino. He then declared that I could no longer assault the horrors as I had shot at a different unit. The rule simply says that I can't assault a unit I don't shoot, so I had to let it go, even though he admitted it was pretty cheesy.
My contention is that the confusion caused by the changeling only affects the shooting phase, since it is, in effect, a kind of psychic power that operates only in the shooting phase. What do you think? Should I simply never shoot at horrors I intend to assault, or did he stretch his rule farther than he should have?
I dont have the book on me so i cant quote or direct to page numbers. But the most basic rule for assaulting is if you didnt shoot it, you cant assault it.
Ive used the changling's power several times to divert an assault.
It's generally a good rule of thumb in 40K to never shoot at something you intend to assault.
Tactics aside, yes that's how it works, totally legal. Daemons don't have a whole lot going for them in 40K, so I don't think it's too bad =)
Your opponent is right.
Notably, I think the protection against what happened is that the unit must be picked before it shoots. That unit is aware they are under the glamour before they fire. Therefore, if you really wanted to assault and the shooting was a minor indulgence, then you have the option to not fire at all and the glamour is wasted (sorta).
Ruthlessness is the mercy of the wise.