Template Weapons and Multiple Units - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Template Weapons and Multiple Units

    Ran into another new situation this weekend.

    Command Unit behind a Troop Unit. LST (with M.Melta & Hvy Flamer )

    LST Shooting, Targets Command Unit. Flame Template covers 3 models in the Command Unit and 2 models in the Troop Unit.

    Flame Templates ignore cover. LST is a skimmer. (If just a regular model held flamer, does the outcome change? )

    Is there some kind of cover rule in effect here? (intervening models)

    Who is hit?

    We both agreed (maybe totaly incorrectly) that all models under or partially under the template we're *hit*. Rolled for wounds (for each unit with diff color dice) and removed casualties. The way we figured is that scattering blast templates can hit multiple units, we didn't see any reason why the flame template would be different.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Xpyre35 View Post
    Ran into another new situation this weekend.

    Command Unit behind a Troop Unit. LST (with M.Melta & Hvy Flamer )

    LST Shooting, Targets Command Unit. Flame Template covers 3 models in the Command Unit and 2 models in the Troop Unit.

    Flame Templates ignore cover. LST is a skimmer. (If just a regular model held flamer, does the outcome change? )

    Is there some kind of cover rule in effect here? (intervening models)

    Who is hit?

    We both agreed (maybe totaly incorrectly) that all models under or partially under the template we're *hit*. Rolled for wounds (for each unit with diff color dice) and removed casualties. The way we figured is that scattering blast templates can hit multiple units, we didn't see any reason why the flame template would be different.

    You did it correctly. A template weapon can hit multiple units. There used to be a rule that said you had to try to cover as many models in the primary unit as possible, which made it difficult, but not impossible to hit multiple units, but I don't think that rule exists anymore.

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinjin View Post
    You did it correctly. A template weapon can hit multiple units. There used to be a rule that said you had to try to cover as many models in the primary unit as possible, which made it difficult, but not impossible to hit multiple units, but I don't think that rule exists anymore.
    You still have to cover as many models as possible in the target unit without touching friendlies. (pg29)
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Senior Member omegoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    216 (x7)

    You hit everything under the template, and must cover as many models as possible without touching friendlies.
    Remember that if you want to charge with the firing unit, you must still charge the unit that was targeted, not any that were hit. Although you may be able to charge all of the units as long as the targeted unit is charged too.
    Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
    I currently play:
    Doom Eagle Space Marines
    Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
    Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
    Tau of O'me
    Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters

    and my attempted foray into fantasy
    'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff

  6. #5
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by omegoku View Post
    Remember that if you want to charge with the firing unit, you must still charge the unit that was targeted, not any that were hit. Although you may be able to charge all of the units as long as the targeted unit is charged too.
    Thanx guys, I was intentionally targeting the further unit ( my speeder wasn't going to charge, but that answers the sub question in paranthesis ) we weren't sure if the thing was *flying* that it would even hit the closer unit, and my other squad was only in reach to assault the closer unit, I didn't want to lose the ability to charge.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts