Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a quick question about a debate that's come up recently.
In the SW codex the Venerable dread, has the old and wise rule. Which reads.
"...includes one then it may re-roll the dice if the mission being played has a dice roll to see who gets the first turn."
From my interpretation, that would would still be active in the current 5th ed rule set as the missions in the book still dice to see who goes first. The only addition being that the dice roll determines deployment and such as well.
I don't play SW but my friend does. And some people are saying that rule is 'nulled now' and no good with the new mission set ups. So I just wanted to clarify this before others played him again.
I'd say that the rule would still work, there's nothing that would make me beleive that it's anything but more usefull.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Why would the Old and Wise rule *not* work with the new mission rules? In all the missions on pages 92-93, you roll off to see who goes first. 'Old and Wise' allows the SW player to re-roll this (presumably he would want to if he lost!). It doesn't mean that he can't also attempt to steal the initiative even if his re-roll fails to gain him the pleasure of going first.
I think these people who are sayingare not quite right. It isn't nulled at all because the latest FAQ doesn't specify that it is. Also, they may be thinking that it's effectively giving the SW player a double chance to go first in the game. Yes it is, but the "Attempt to seize the initiative" is not a re-roll of the Ven Dread's re-roll which I *think* is what they're getting at - the 'you can never re-roll a re-roll' ruling.that rule is 'nulled now' and no good with the new mission set ups.
Just my two cents. I'm a SW player and see no reason why the Ven Dread couldn't continue to use this re-roll ability in the present 5th Ed game missions.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Some people argue that because there is no longer a discrete 'roll for first turn', then the rule no longer applies, as it would be changing the ability to allow you to (effectively) use it to help fudge the deployment roll.
This is backed up by a couple of other items (I *think* the Withchunters have, well, had one), which did have a similar effect, which has been FAQ'd out, and the Space Wolf rule may well be an oversight (Jon Yakface isn't the greatest FAQ writer ever).
In any case, we (finally) get a new 'Dex soon, so it'll be a moot point then anyway
Though I can still see why you'd want an answer, lol.
Personally, though I'd love for it to still apply, I'm afraid that I have to be magnanimous and admit it probably shouldn't apply anymore. Of course, you could probably Rules Lawyer it so that it does apply... but it won't be a very convincing argument.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
I originally was a strong naysayer on this, but I've come around on it. Mounting an argument either way is pure semantic chicanery. The advantage of first turn is heavily diminished anyway by the way the new missions work. There's no merit in holding up a game arguing over this one.