Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am playing in a tournament and so we are using the victory points rules on page 300 of the rulebook.
At the end of the game every unit that has been
destroyed is worth an amount of VPs equal to its points
cost (including the cost of all its extra wargear, vehicle
upgrades, etc). Units that end the game falling back or
off the battlefield count as destroyed.
For example, a 260 point Land Raider would be worth
260 VPs to the opponent if he managed to destroy it by
the end of the game.
Units at half strength
At the end of the game every enemy surviving unit that
has lost half of its initial models or more is worth an
amount of VPs equal to half its points cost (including the
cost of all its extra wargear, vehicle upgrades, etc),
rounded down. In the case of units that start the game
as a single model (independent characters, monstrous
creatures, etc), they are worth half their points cost in
VPs if they have lost half or more of the Wounds on their
profile. In the case of vehicles, they are worth half their
points cost in VPs if they are suffering from the effects of
any Damaged result at the end of the game.
For example, a squad of Space Marines starts the game
at 10 models strong (costing 190 points) and ends the
game with only 5 models left. Such a squad is worth 95
VPs to the opponent.
Some Codex books allow you to field characters
together with a special unit that they cannot leave
during the game (which is normally called a ‘retinue’,
‘bodyguard’ or similar). Where this is the case, the
character counts as an upgrade character until all of
the other members of this unit are killed, at which
point it starts counting as an independent character
and it will do so for the rest of the game.
I have the following unit:
Shas'el - 2 shield drones 110pts
2 Bodyguard 164pts
a) I lost 1 bodyguard.
i) I have lost half of the bodyguards. I give up 82pts.
ii) I have not lost half of the unit. I give up 0pts.
b) I lost 2 shield drones and 2 bodyguard.
i) I have lost the bodyguards and half of my character. I give up 219pts.
ii) I have lost half the unit. I give up 137pts.
iii) The drones form a unit with the character, thus fall under the retinue rules. I have lost my retinue, so the character is now an independent character. I have lost 194pts worth of retinue. I give up 194pts.
iv) The drones form a unit with the character, thus fall under the retinue rules. I have lost my retinue, so the character is now an independent character. I have lost 164pts worth of retinue. I give up 164pts.
c) I lost 2 shield drones.
i) I have not lost half of the unit. I give up 0pts.
ii) I have lost half of my character. I give up 55pts.
iii) I have lost half of my retinue. I give up 97pts.
I'm pretty sure all of those questions would be resolved by the direct question: Do the drone models count as members of the unit or as wargear on the character? I would treat them as members of a retinue personally, but I don't have a copy of Tau to scrutinize atm.
Drones under the command of a drone controller are counted when assessing if the unit they are with should take a Morale check having taken 25% casualties. They are similarly counted when determining if the unit is strong enough to claim an objective. If their uni suffers losses, drones are counted when determining if it is below 50% for Victory Point purposes.
Drones must maintain coherency with the unit their controller is in. If he is an independent character then the drones and character form a unit but the character and drones may still join another unit.
Unless accompanied by a Bodyguard, the Commander is an independent character and follows the Independent Character special rules.
So from that, I do not have an independent character.
Thus the answers are:
I was going to say so but didn't want to double post, I'm surprised a rules question lasted this long.
You did toss up a bit of a wall of text there =)
I'd think b) should be iii The Commander reverted to IC status when all of the members of his unit died. The 'Unit' is destroyed for the total value of all other models and he is now scored as an IC based on his individual cost.
Yep, joining in with the a= ii), b= iii) and c= i).
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"