Vortex of Doom Power - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Victorus aut Mortis Shad0w_Reaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Age
    27
    Posts
    685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    Vortex of Doom Power

    Hey guys,

    Ummmm just wondering how exactly the current marine power vortex of doom works. Say a Ork warboss and a squad of boyz were hit by it, and the warboss was under the blast too, can the warboss be removed if he fails his Initiative test? or can the opponent allocate wounds or whatever to whomever?

    ~SR~

    Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    The rules for the VoD say that

    "Enemy models [....] equal or under their Initiative Characteristic...". (emphasis mine)

    It doesn't make any exception for multi-wound models, nor does it say that the opponent gets to choose which models are affected. This is a roll per model situation, similar to the way we now roll for saving throws. Each individual model rolls for its own survival.

    "...or they will be sucked into the depths of the warp and destroyed instantly....etc"

    Other things to notice about this power are that it has its own scatter rules, rather than the rules included in the BRB. This raises the question: which rule applies? This is not a rule which concerns a USR, in which situation the Codex overrules the BRB, but rather a specific SM rule.

    Similarly, the same thing applies to the partial hits bit. Template/blast markers no longer have partial hits in 5th Ed, so does this affect the way this psychic power works?

    E.
    Last edited by eiglepulper; September 2nd, 2008 at 16:00.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  4. #3
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    That rule says to use the ‘small blast marker’ and to me this is more than a physical disk of plastic.

    By RAW the use of a ‘small blast marker’ is a set of rules gleaned for the Core Rules and interfaced onto the game via a piece of plastic, so I would say that you use all the rules associated with it.

    Good question though.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  5. #4
    Victorus aut Mortis Shad0w_Reaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Age
    27
    Posts
    685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    Thanks for the help guys. Im not too sure what to do about the power, but I guess we shall see what happens with it in the new codex.

    ~SR~
    Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts