MC vs tanks - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MC vs tanks

  1. #1
    Member Eldar_rules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    MC vs tanks

    i just got the 5th rulebook and in the monstrous creatures section it says all MCs get their strength + 2D6 vs tanks. this is opposed to the 4th rule that said that really strong MCs, such as wraithlords, only get their strength + 1D6.

    would you say that wraithlords do get the 2D6 now or not?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member ajay29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Im pretty sure that wraithlords have always had strength + 2D6 as they are MC's, in 4th and 5th...
    Herald of the Colonel; Festooned with pistols, riddled with vermin, and finger lickin' good...

  4. #3
    AKM
    AKM is offline
    Ork Strategizt AKM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    I don't have my codexes around, but I'm pretty sure wraithlords are NOT MCs, curiously enough. It needs to be specified in the codex entry that a model is an MC. If not, then it's not one.
    "Politics is the womb in which war develops"
    Clausewitz

  5. #4
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by AKM View Post
    I don't have my codexes around, but I'm pretty sure wraithlords are NOT MCs, curiously enough. It needs to be specified in the codex entry that a model is an MC. If not, then it's not one.
    And it is specified in the Wraithlord entry that they are Monstrous Creatures. So indeed they are, and they get all bonuses and penalties assigned to Monstrous Creatures as per the 5th edition rulebook. So if the book says "Strength + 2D6," S + 2D6 it is.

  6. #5
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Even in 4th MC would roll 2D6 + strenght for armourpenetration.

  7. #6
    Member Errors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    Due to me playing Eldar (topic regarding wraith lord) and Tyranids (lots of monstrous creatures), I'll just chime in to confirm what the others have said.

    1. The wraith lord is a monstrous creature per his entry in the Eldar codex.
    2. Monstrous creatures in both 4th and 5th edition use S+2D6 for amour penetration rolls.
    Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!


  8. #7
    AKM
    AKM is offline
    Ork Strategizt AKM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    And it is specified in the Wraithlord entry that they are Monstrous Creatures.
    Oooops.....Looks like I'm getting old and memory is failing me
    "Politics is the womb in which war develops"
    Clausewitz

  9. #8
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    The difference was that in 4th Edition is used to say that if the MC was using a special weapon that alters STR, it didn't get to add 2D6. e.g., a Daemon Prince with a Sword that gives +2 Str would have gotten STR + D6 + 2 instead of STR+2D6 in 4E

  10. #9
    Member Eldar_rules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    oh, thx
    must have missed something in the 4th rulebook.
    thanks for the clarification

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts