Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a game on sunday when I tried to have an open topped transport with a squad inside shoot at a different target to the trransport itself.
My opponent challenged me on this and I could not find a reference in the rule book so we decided that I could not do that and continued with the game.
Did I make this rule up along with all memory of seeing it written down? I know you couldn't in 4th but I thought it had been amended in 5th.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
You COULD in 4th, by definition they are two seperate units, there's nothing in the book that ever forces two seperate units to engage the same target. Just because one unit is being transported by another does not make them one and the same.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Since the transport is a separate unit to the embarked squad I would say that they can indeed this target different enemy units.
In 5th Ed this is evidenced by –
• The shooting sequence [page 15], one unit chooses one target,
• “Vehicles shooting,” [page 58], it uses its own BS (not the passengers) and shoots like other units.
These two things alone tell me that the vehicle can target one thing and the embarked squad can target another.
If your opponent tells you that it is one unit then hit them with our beloved kill points system!
P.S. the rule in 4th used to be that the ‘vehicle’ could not split fire.
Last edited by Wicky; September 9th, 2008 at 06:01.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Here's another one to prove that a transport and its passengers are separate units. P.92 BRB: Multiple Choice Units:
"Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as separate choices in all respects".
'In all respects' includes shooting.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"