Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello all. Recently encountered this issue in a game, and the rule book wasn't very clear on this, or else I couldn't find it. I had a group of termies fighting nobs and i killed 3 nobs with power fists, so they were insta-killed. At the end, he had killed 3 of my 1 wound termies and I had killed 5 of his 2 wound nobs (3 with power fists insta-death). Does he take a -7 to his leadership or just a -2 because i'm guessing i still only did 1 wound to the nobs though they were insta-killed. Any advice and answers would be great, along with rule book references if I overlooked it.
It's clear on page 39.
To decide who has won the combat, total
up the number of unsaved wounds inflicted by each
side on their opponents.
Note that wounds that have been negated by saving
throws or other special rules that have similar effects
do not count, nor do wounds in excess of a model’s
Wounds characteristic, only the wounds actually
suffered by enemy models (including all of the Wounds
lost by models that have suffered instant death).
thanks, i didn't see pg 39, i was looking at pg 26
Minor addition to this question, as it is something that just came up in a game this weekend with a friend.
5-man Veteran Asault squad charges a full ( 10 ) Ogryn squad. ( each has having 3 wounds) Initiative order damage 4 assault marines inflict 2 wounds, Ogryns fight back inflict 4 wounds, power fist swings killing 2 models (instant death). Assault results SM 4 wounds Ogryn 8 wounds. Ogryn fail leadership (-4) and begin to fall back.
The above clears that we did infact count everything right. Now comes the partthat leave both of us scratching our heads.
Sweepeing advance. d6 + initiative. a couple questions are formed.
1) does the loan SM with a power fist count his Initiative value from his profile or as a (1) as its what he used during that fight with a Power Fist.
2) Regardless, SM rolls a 6 + Initiave value and Ogryn rolls a 2 + I. SM prevailing. This essentially has a single Marine destroying or scattering an 8 man Ogryn squad? Can that be correct?
Keeping in mind I'm the SM player, I still feel like there's a rule or something missing. Even with a Bolter and a power fist how is he effectively causing 22 wounds (instantly).
Always count the Initiative value from the model’s profile without any modifiers. In a unit with mixed Initiative characteristics, count the majority value, or the highest if there is no majority.
The thing about 5th edition is that combats are usually over in one round. The rest of the time they are over by round 2 (exaggerating just a little).
My advice is don't get into assault with a better unit expecting to last long.
However, does the sweeping advance of a single marine render the remaining 8 Ogryns (destroyed, dispersed, run out of the battle) by winning the sweeping advance initiative roll?
Yes. It was like that in 4th as well. It does seem a bit ridiculous when 10+ wounds are dealt by a single model but you could chalk it up to them trampling each other in a panic trying to get away as the enemy blasts them to bits from behind.
Also don't try to think too realistically about GW rules. Example: gaunt wrapping cover saves.
They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my SPESS MAHREENS!