Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A question for you
A spore mine fired by Bivore ... misses the targer .. misses everything, and is now just floating around .... as they do ...
Now if someone shoots it .. does it cost me a kp ... or does the unit of Bivs also need to be killed as well
While I`m at it .. same situtation, but it is now close enough to contest a objective, with out blowing up ... is that objective contested ???
Yes it is worth a killpoint and yes it can contest.
Can you expand further on your answer ??
Why is a KP .. I thought it was a part of the Biv unit?
It doesn't for a unit with the biovore. It becomes its own unit and therefore can contest and is worth a KP.
If you do some searches you will see this has come up a couple of times before.
Thanks .. I did a search but due to me being at work .. and being a crap speller it didnt return anything
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I'm working from memory here wiki (always dangerous) but I believe it states "cannot capture table quarters, hold objectives or count as scoring units".
Whilst it cannot "hold" objectives it can contest them.
while your quoted rule is correct the argument can go either way, due to the unique set of rules it follows one can argue it is not a unit and therefore cannot contest...nor count as KP.
Dear Game Designer,
Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
For those who feel that spore mines fired from a biovore count as a kill point if they miss and land on the talbe, what about if they hit and explode instead? Afterall they technically do not explode until the end of the shooting phase (Tyranid codex: Detonation, page 29) so they still would have been a unit for a short while - it's just that they don't actually get placed. Is this not similar to a deepstriking unit that gets destroyed accidentally in the deepstrike? Even though a destroyed deepstriker was never actually placed on the table your opponent gets the kill point for it. This would mean that by taking biovores your opponent automatically gets 6 kill points without having to even kill anything for it unless you don't fire them in which case they weren't worth taking.
Somehow I don't think this was GW's intention and I expect it to eventually be FAQ'd out of existence. Until then though, just don't use biovores.
Last edited by ZenGamer; September 30th, 2008 at 15:41.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
personally I agree with you. But a lot of tournaments are enorcing then as a KP.