Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
quick rule question for those that have played.....
This can be applied to any race with armor I assume.
Space marines have armor so they get an armor save based on the save value of the armor if they fail do they get a personal save based on there save value and if yes why is there save value better then the armor?
Seems to me that if i made it thru your space armor i should hit you.... the situation gets worse if you are in cover and get a cover save can you fail that then armor save then your save?
I am new to this game and need some clarification
You will only ever get one save.
e.g. I have a terminator in light cover.
He has a 2+ save, 5+ invulnerable and a 4+ cover.
I may only choose one of these saves to use.
Against most things I would use the 2+ armour save.
If hit by an AP 2 or 1 weapon I would use the 4+ cover save as the armour save is ignored and the cover save is now best.
Against a power weapon in combat I would use the 5+ invulnerable save as this is the only save I have left available to me.
Only one "save" die is rolled.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
thank you for the quick answer, that makes more sense.
Just to make sure i have it use the armor save if being shot at because it is the best if the AP of the weapon is the same or better than the armor use the cover save, lastly in an assult if it is an ork with a choppa just use the armor but if it was a chain sword or something use the other save? Sorry if i am missing something.
You use whichever save is most likely to keep you alive, so yes, vs. shooting that will normally be your armour save if you're a marine, if the AP is equal to or below your armour, you are correct in that you may not use your armour save, but may instead use a cover or invulnerablie save. You must be in cover to get a cover save though, and it only works vs shooting. If its just a regular ork with choppa in an assault your marine would get its 3+ save from its armour. Against the marine sargeant with the power sword, you are also correct, no armour save is allowed, and as it is combat there are no cover saves available, cover provides different benifits in combat. If the model has an invulnerable save it is allowed to use this vs. the power sword.
No problem, glad I could be of help!
I think we need a sticky with this in it. This question gets asked ALL the time... I think it was 2 weeks ago last time
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to