Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does a plague marine (armor save 3+) get a FNP roll if he suffers a Strength 4 AP3 wound?
"If a model with this ability suffers an unsaved wound, roll a dice.... This ability cannot be used aganst wounds from weapons that inflict instant death (by having a high enough Strength or a specail rule to that effect, even if the model is an eternal warrior). Neither can it be used against wounds from AP1 and AP2 weapons, power weapons and any other wound against WHICH NO ARMOR SAVE CAN EVER BE TAKEN (like wounds from power fists, Dreadnought Close combat weapons, rending weapons that roll a 6 etc....).
The question is, does this wound quality as inflicting 'instant death' by virtue of the AP3 negating the armor save, or alternatively does it qualify as a weapon against WHICH NO ARMOR SAVE CAN EVER BE TAKEN because it has AP equal to the save.
Or, is the term Instant Death restricted to strength greater than toughness times 2 weapons. And, then is the list of exceptions for weapons in the FNP rule exhaustive, (rending weapons, Dreadnought CCW).
no, the ap3 denies his armour save, therefore he cant
You'd get FNP against an S4 AP3 weapon. Armor Saves can certainly be taken against AP3 weapons, not by that particular unit, but that's not what the rule says. The list is by no means exhaustive, but it means exactly what it says, and nowhere does it indicate in any way that 'CAN EVER BE TAKEN' actually meant by the particular unit that has FNP.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; October 19th, 2008 at 09:30.