Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
WHen chosen for a command squad does a landraider also take a Heavy Slot. It says in the codex that transports are not part of a unit, nor do they take up a slot on the force org charts, just wondering if this took effect with landraiders?
"Pain is the wine of communion among heros"
Teachings of Rhetoricus
I'm pretty sure it counts for the HQ as it is chosen with the HQ unit, just like a Rhino is with a tactical squad. But I would choose it for the Heavy Support, as your Hq points will be massive and therefore unbalanced.
But heres another question. Can an assault squad without jump packs use a tactical squads rhino. ie- they set up in it at the start of the game.
How victory may be produced for them out of the enemy's
own tactics--that is what the multitude cannot comprehend.
"Quantity has a Quality of it's own"
If you choose the LR as a transport upgrade for the HQ, it does not take an additional slot, however there are disadvantages as Red Man pointed out. You may also ONLY transport the unit for which it was purchased as an upgrade. No other unit may use the LR if it was purchased as a transport, just like Rhinos.An Assault Squad may NEVER use a Rhino, with or without jump packs. This is because the Rhino transport is not available as an upgrade to the unit, and no unit may ever use the transport purchased by a different unit.But heres another question. Can an assault squad without jump packs use a tactical squads rhino. ie- they set up in it at the start of the game.
However, there are also advantages of selecting it as a transport upgrade--your models may start the game embarked. GW Q&A has ruled that vehicles with transport ability that are not taken as transport upgrades for a unit, may not start the game with models embarked. They must start outside the vehicle and embark on turn 1. Thus, a LR chosen as Heavy Support could not start the game with a unit of terminators, scouts, or anything else deployed inside.
This rule is stupid, and gets very little attention from players, who routinely ignore it (or are just blissfully ignorant). But I believe that if you go to a Grand Tournament or something similar, you'd end up losing the argument (if your opponent had an objection).
Purge all the heretics,
Kill the alien scum,
Suffer not the unclean to live,
And have a beer when you're done.
GW themselves forget that rule...
Both the Vehicle and Creature Design Rules allow the design of 'Tunneling' (Deep Striking) vehicles/creatures. Additionally, You can give them the 'Transport' ability... But if You make a Tunneling Transport, how is it supposed to transport any troops to the battlefield?!
Especially since the VDR entry specifically states Tunneling is "Generally used to transport troops"... :rolleyes:
So in my mind, it's better to clear this up with opponents in friendly games and play how You want.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
I think it gets very little attention because it only came out briefly in a Q&A, but never made it to any official rules update. It was only a passing thought from a GW source. It is not in the current version of any official published rule FAQ I know of. Essentially it is not an official rule. If anyone knows different please point me to the source.Originally posted by 40Kgreybeard@Jun 24 2004, 10:48
GW Q&A has ruled that vehicles with transport ability that are not taken as transport upgrades for a unit, may not start the game with models embarked. They must start outside the vehicle and embark on turn 1. Thus, a LR chosen as Heavy Support could not start the game with a unit of terminators, scouts, or anything else deployed inside.
Yes, you can actually take 5 Land Raiders per force organization chart. I don't know why anyone would want to, except maybe for the 4th edition assault transport rules.
Jack of all trades, master of none.