Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
On occassion my friends and I play 2 vs 2 games. Being the Eldar, I have a very useful selection of Psychic Powers available to use. My question is though, can I use said powers on my ally or is it just on my own units? I thought I had read somewhere that I can't, but I haven't been able to find anything in the rule book the is either for or against it. I haven't scoured the RB deeply though so might have missed it and I don't have one to hand. Can anyone confirm if I can use them or not, preferably with a reference?
No, there's no clear explanation anywhere. The rules as written don't take into allies account. It's one of those thorny problems you just have to work out with your opponent, I think.
It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
Well, look very carefully at the rule for said Eldar powers. Do they say "affects friendly unit", or does it say "affects friendly Eldar unit"?
Generally, if the allies are playing the same army, nobody is really gonna care. But if you're playing different armies, you'll have to see what your opponents are comfortable with. As I mentioned above, sometimes the codex differentiates between any friendly units and friendly units of the same codex.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
i personally would say it was ok if your ally was same race, because in theory the powers are ment for eldar, so might tend to rip your allies mind appart.
Then again if you agree with the other team b4 hand and make your ally take a leadership test to have the power. If he fails it the ally recieving the power takes 1 wounds or sommat.
Army » « Necrons » « Tyranids
Eldar are a tricky foe, they'll "ally" with just about anyone as it could serve them in the future. For instance, while chaos is the great enemy, they may aide there attack against an imperial colony if in the future that colony grows to a hive world that will destroy one of their craftworlds or something.
As in ghostmaker, the eldar will use deceit and witch craft to confused their enemy into fighting one another or aide one enemy in fighting another. So with that fluff background in mind I'd say that eldar powers would work on most allies, excluding probably tyranids and necrons as necrons aren't really alive and the tyranid hive mind would destroy or keep at bay any eldar mind attempting to reach it most likely.
But then again this is just my fluff explanation for it all, you may think it an entirely different way.
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.
This is probably best explained by looking at the specific rule for each of them in the Codex.
Some say you target the enemy, so you obviously can’t go and use it on your own or your allies forces.
Others say to use the power on the same race as yours, so it’s good to go for all Eldar.
But I can’t see any Eldar psychic powers that could benefit non-Eldar.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.