Scout move in dawn of war - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    Scout move in dawn of war

    Hey can I take a scout move to move units on to the board in the dawn of war deployment type? Scouts can move before the first turn, and units move on to the board as normal. Can I move onto the board before the first turn? It does not say anything about limiting scout moves like it says about limiting infiltrators. What do you think?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by nichodemus10 View Post
    Hey can I take a scout move to move units on to the board in the dawn of war deployment type? Scouts can move before the first turn, and units move on to the board as normal. Can I move onto the board before the first turn? It does not say anything about limiting scout moves like it says about limiting infiltrators. What do you think?
    yes you can use your scout move to move models that are off the board, the problem is that these units are not allowed to enter the play area until their designated time.
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    I'm pretty sure that you can't use Scout moves to enter the board. I think you need to already be on the board to use it.

    Just think though, they're kinda forcing you into making Outflank more of an option, as they can't be on the board yet.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    P.92 BRB under "Infiltrators and Scouts":

    1. Deploy Forces except units retained in reserve or which are Infiltrators.
    2. Deploy Infiltrators.
    3. Other units not deployed remain in Reserve and use the reserve rules to allow deployment.*
    4. Make Scout Moves.

    *So any unit not deployed after Infiltrators have been placed on the table must be considered as a unit in Reserve.

    Nowhere does it suggest that a unit in Reserve may use the Scout move to gain access to the battlefield from Reserve. It's implicit in the rules that the Scout move is done by those units already deployed on-table.

    The Scout rule on P.76 BRB says that it is a normal move, "done exactly as in the Movement Phase". The Movement Phase rules do not mention any unit moving onto the table from reserve/using a Scout move. All moves are made by units already deployed on the table.

    The only time a unit may move "onto" the table is when it arrives from Reserve. This therefore precludes any Scout move as this is performed *before* the game actually starts with the first player starting his turn, and therefore Reserves cannot be able to have a Scout move.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  6. #5
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    Perfectly explained with a great grasp of the rules there.
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  7. #6
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Yes well explained eiglepulper and I would just like to add this.

    A ‘Scout Move’ is done from an already established deployment position on the table.

    As previously stated to gain access to the table for ‘Infiltrators and Scouts’ you can only deploy forces in the deployment phase and leave reserves or infiltrators for a later time.

    Therefore you can’t use it to move onto the table, but you can use it if you are already deployed as per the Dawn of War rules.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    P.92 BRB under "Infiltrators and Scouts":

    1. Deploy Forces except units retained in reserve or which are Infiltrators.
    2. Deploy Infiltrators.
    3. Other units not deployed remain in Reserve and use the reserve rules to allow deployment.*
    4. Make Scout Moves.
    To start I don't have the full rule book, just the mini from black reach so maybe mine is different; however my rules for dawn of war are different than that.

    1. Deploy up to 2 troops and 1 HQ
    2. Troops and HQs that can infiltrate may do so now as long as you don't pass the 2/1 limit.
    3. Players make scout moves
    4. Start the game--all units that were not deployed "and not declared to be held in reserve durring the depolyment phase" must enter the game by moving in from their own table edge.

    They are not held in reserve, and all it takes is a normal move to move them onto the board. They have a scout move (which follows the rules for a normal move), and a time to take it. Why can they not use it?

  9. #8
    Acting XO of Tanith 1st MadLarkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    College Station
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    I thought scouts could always deploy and never count towards you max/min units allowed on the board? or was this the 5th edition scout rules?
    Most Notable Achievements:
    Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
    Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.

  10. #9
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    Well for a start the mini rules book is exactly the same regardless of which one you use for all the rules.

    1. Deploy up to 2 troops and 1 HQ
    – agreed and this is not ‘Movement,’ it is done before the initial movement phase.

    2. Troops and HQs that can infiltrate may do so now as long as you don't pass the 2/1 limit
    – agreed.

    3. Players make scout moves
    – agreed, IF you have Scouts on the table to move, as in if they represent part of your 2 troop choices.

    4. Start the game--all units that were not deployed "and not declared to be held in reserve durring the depolyment phase" must enter the game by moving in from their own table edge
    – here is your problem as all units that weren’t deployed must enter the game in the first turn’s movement phase, not before.

    You seem to want to use the Scout move to enter after the turn phase of the game starts and you can’t do that.

    But you can choose not to use your special scout rules and simply have them march on from the table edge from turn one, but not before.

    Cheers.

    P.S. Not all units that did not originally deploy are classed as reserves, so I disagree on this point from post 4.
    Last edited by Wicky; October 28th, 2008 at 06:58.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  11. #10
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by wickywacky1 View Post
    P.S. Not all units that did not originally deploy are classed as reserves, so I disagree on this point from post 4.
    I've just been reading through P.94 BRB concerning the "Reserves" rules, and there certainly does not seem to be any option mentioned about any non-deployed units being retained as anything other than "in reserve". That is what paragraph one says.

    However, paragraph two is possibly where the slight variation comes in. It says that the player declares
    "which units are left in reserve"
    This suggests that of all the units which were not able to be deployed in the DoW game due to the restriction of 1 HQ and 2 Troops, some (but not necessarily all) may be allowed to be used as reserves.

    If that is the case, then this would explain the phraseology in the rules for the DoW game
    "All units that were not deployed, and were not declared to be in reserve during deployment"
    .

    However, this moving onto the table of units 'not in reserve but not deployed originally' still disallows any unit with the "scout" special rule to make that extra move because as Wicky said:
    here is your problem as all units that weren’t deployed must enter the game in the first turn’s movement phase, not before.

    You seem to want to use the Scout move to enter after the turn phase of the game starts and you can’t do that.
    Hopefully that helps a little.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts