Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Finished up my 3rd game in as many weeks this evening (Since 1.5 year layoff from 40k) and we're having more fun then ever!
A couple of different things happened in tonights match that had us somewhat puzzled.
1. His SM Captain was armed with a combi weapon. He attempted to shot this in his 3rd shooting phase and the shot resulted in a miss. He then attempted to shoot the combi weapon again on turn 5 stating he never actually "shot". I would assume this was illegal correct? Isn't it consider that the "ammo" was discharged but simply missed?
2. Standard Assault marines are listed in the codex as having a single attack. Does the multiple close combat weapons (bolt pistol / chainsword for majority) count as +1 to attacks? Does this mean an assault squad of 6 men charging would get 18 attacks?
3. Exploding result on penetration table calls for the roll of a D6 and anything within that receives a hit from the debris. It was my tank that was blown up so I rolled the D6 for the scatter distance. 10 of his units and 1 of mine were affected. I then rolled the wound rolls on his 10 and he rolled my wound dice on my 1... did we do that right? We both rolled our own appropriate saves obviously.
4. Now for my last (and most complicated) question that came out of tonights match. This is an assault question... In MY assault phase I took 6 assault marines back into combat against 10 marines. After all was said and done, I took out 4 marines bringing his total down to 6 as well. He passed his leadership test and we piled in.
ON HIS assault turn, he then brought 5 assault termies into the mix.
We began with his 5 termies laying down enough wounds to wipe the 6 assault marines without saves. Since both the termy and Assault marines of int 4, I got my attack back, HOWEVER, this is where we got confused. Who do I hit? The marines or the assault termies? Can I choose? Does the "majority" rule take over?
Thanks everyone. I do own a rulebook but I think I'm confusing myself more and more without some known correct answers from fellow players.
Sorry but I have 1 more question
I'm confused how many attacks the lightning claw assault termies get each. I would assume 1 from codex and 1 from 2 close combat weapons (and 1 more if charge)?
Sorry again for such noobish questions.
You're damn right that helped! Where else can I go ask 40k questions at 2am EST and get a response I love LO!
Okay. so everyone you said looks great aside from that very last question I had. As far as I know, all termies are now 1 attack each in base stats.
Correct that, 2 attacks like you said. Not sure where I was getting 1 from
So in the case of 5 assault termies charging we're looking at 20 attacks?
So just so we know for next time, should this be how the assualt should take place... this is based off what happened tonight. I just want to be sure we're doing it right for next time.
My Assault Phase:
- Charge 6 Assault Marines, kill 4 marines
- He passes leadership and we pile in.
- It's my 6 assualt marines vs. his 6 marines.
His Assault Phase:
- First he charges 5 termies into the current 6 vs. 6 combat
- He then attacks with the 5 termies and we determine wounds
- He then attacks with 6 marines and we determine wounds
- I then get any attack backs (all but sarg; powerfisted in this case) and I can choose either the termies or marines since both are in base contact (1 squad on each side in this case)
- Remove dead models and determine who won (he did, killed all my assault squad)
How does that sound?
What we did wrong tonight was just let his termies hit then he told me the marines didn't need to take their turn. This seemed fine and dandy until I went to attack and was told I could only attack his termies... Didn't make much difference but it will down the road when the assaults get more nasty and aren't on the last turn at midnight
Thanks so very much.
That looks mostly fine, as long as the termies all had lightning claws. All combats are done in Initiave brackets, too. So if all the models are I4 (as I think they are in this case) then everyone will attack. For convienience usually one players makes all their attacks, wounds and saves are made. Any casualties from the same I bracket are put to one side to remind the owning player that while they are dead, they still get to attack this turn (as the same initiative). Unlike WHM charging does not get you instant rights to first attacks.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Thanks again for the help tonight! I'm getting so confident compared to only a few weeks ago... it's making the game so much quicker and enjoyable.
A couple of things.
All units ALWAYS fight in combat. You can not choose not to fight, it isn't like shooting in that respect.
Who you attack is done on a model by model basis. By this I mean that if a model is in base to base with an enemy model then this model must attack the unit that the enemy model belongs to. If you are in b2b with 2 enemy models then you may choose which to attack. If you are not in b2b with an enemy model but are within 2" of a model in your unit that is in b2b then you are involved in combat with that fight. Once again if the unit is involved in multiple combats within 2" of that model that is not in b2b then it may choose who to direct your attacks against.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to