Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This question came up in an objective seizing game.
The rules say that a troop or none troop unit may deny an objective if they are within 3".
As transport units no longer have to stick with the unit they are purchased with can they contest objectives?
I'd find it very strange if they can't.
If someone can point to a page ref I'd appreciate it.
They can contest, but not claim.
If you need a page reference, try pages 90 & 91. Its mentioned in both the description of scoring units on page 90, and again in the mission descriptions on page 91.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
As mentioned by psichotykwyrm, from page 90 “The presence of any other units may deny an objective…..”
Page 5 then describes unit types of which a vehicle is one.
These two rules combined should be enough to prove that a transport vehicle can indeed contest objectives.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Just throwing in there that transports have never had to "stick with" the unit that they were purchased for. While dedicated transports were unable to transport units other than their own, they never had to actually stay anywhere near their unit, and could do as they please even under 4th edition rules.