Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Two very simple questions which I can't find in the Trial Assault Rules nor in the Rules Book :
1) Can a winning unit in close combat chose to make a voluntary fall back, even without a special ability that permits them to do it?
2) Does a skimmer block line of sight to units behind it like a regular tank?
Without a special rule, no unit may voluntarily fall back. In the back of the rule book there is a 'Voluntry Fallback' rule that is optional. Both players must agree on it before the game starts. It is highly NOT recomended. If used the player must be in a position to roll for fallback, and agrees to fail the roll. They cannot fall back after winning a battle, for example.
Skimmers block LoS as a vehicle of the same size. You cannot shoot under them. There are two schools of thought on vehicles blocking LoS. One says they block LoS exactly as per the dimensions of the vehicle (no shooting under skimmers, though), the other says vehicles block LoS to an infinite height. Basically you can't shoot past a vehicle at all.
I play they block LoS to their exact dimensions, so if you had a Demon Prince standing so he could be seen above a Rhino, he would have cover, but could be shot over the Rhino. If you can see it, you can shoot it, and it can shoot back.
The other train of thought says you can't shoot over the top of the Rhino, period.
Thanks a lot for the insight!
As for the height thoughts, I wonder if there's any way to be fair if you take in consideration the varying heights of the flying bases, for example.
It would also be hard for a skimmer to be in cover at all behind a forest or another vehicule.
But anyway, you answered my questions, many thanks.
Flying bases and stands are not counted when calculating a models height, only the dimensions of the model itself.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
So WolfRaider, if a rhino was blocking LoS (Well not blocking, but in between my speeders and the squad I was firing at) to my squad of speeders, would I be able to shoot?
I mean they would be seen as hovering yes? So they would shoot over the Rhino...
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.
You're supposed to not consider the height of the flying base when sighting to or from the speeder. So normally they would not be able to see over the Rhino unless the squad was on top of a hill behind the Rhino. So no the Speeders would not be able to see over a Rhino.
However, I find trying to imagine the actual height of the speeder to be a real pain. So most games I talk over with my opponent playing that Speeders are actually where they sit on the stand. Yes, they gain some advantage in LoS, but they are also easier to see. So in my games, many times a Speeder can see over a Rhino, but the enemy can also see the Speeder over the Rhino. We keep the convention that you cannot shoot under the speeder, the gravity field of whatever obscures the target. So far I've never had a problem playing this way.
Forests, as defined by the rules, are they only piece of terrain to extend to infinite height. It's too hard to model realistic sized trees, so GW says regardless of the model, forests cannot be shot over. Everything else we play actual dimensions. So it takes a 3" hill (three increments of height in my games) to completely hide a vehicle. A hill of 1" provides hull down for vehicles and cover for troops, 2" is hull down and obscures LoS for troops.
It depends on what you mean by "winning;" if the enemy squad is destroyed, then you can consolidate into your vehicle, if you choose.
Currently, if you're "locked" into cc, you can't voluntarily fall back. Rumor is that under 4th Ed., any unit may choose to leave cc by sacrificing a model and falling back. You will then have to re-group before you can board your transport (unless your speed freaks).