Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok guys, I'm sure this has been asked 1000 times already, but I need some help here.
The rule book claims that Power Fists and Klaws have to be paired to get a bonus attack...
So with an Ork Nob, does that mean he gets 3 attacks with his power Klaw (because he has a 3 attack base)? and one with his slugga @ normal strength if he takes it?
Or does that mean he gets 1 Power Klaw attack and the rest at his normal strength?
Same thing with a character like Gazkull... He has 5 attacks... Are all of these Power Klaw attacks?
Sorry if this is a totally noobie question, but I am really getting hurt by a buddy of mine who runs Power Klaws and Fists all the time, and I'm pretty sure he's using too many attacks with them, but I don't know how to interpret this rule well enough to tell him, that at least one of his Nob's attacks shouldn't be with the Strength of the Klaw...
Thanks for the help guys and until I hear from you guys, I'll just bunker down!
You just get the number of basic attacks as power fist/klaw attacks, no extra attacks for having two weapons at either strength, unless you have two power fists/klaws.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public
Thaks a ton Platypus!! I really appreciate it!
Just to semi clarify that all attacks in close combat utilise the rules of the special weapon a model is equipped with. A model with a power weapon and chainsword can only use power weapon attacks, a model with a power fist and bolt pistol can only use power fist attacks, etc. So any time you have a special weapon equipped on the model, all attacks (from their statline and bonuses) will be made using the rules of that special weapon. The only time this isn't quite true is when you have a model with two special weapons, for example a power weapon and a power fist. If you run into this situation, you are not allowed to ever 'split' attacks; you merely choose each Assault Phase what weapon the model is using, and all attacks are made with that particular weapon during that particular Assault Phase.
Not to beleaguer the issue but how does this apply to Eldar Striking Scorpion Exarch's Power Claws? Its a very limited case but the unit is automatically kitted with a Scorpion Chainsword which ads +1 to its Strength (even when it takes a Power Claw.) Does this bonus carry over to its power claw attacks, giving it S8 Power Claw attacks or does it instead only make those attacks at S 6 (3x2)?
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Scramlaz, I would refer to Lost Nemesis' post. It states that if you ever have a model with two special weapons (in this case, because the Scorpion Chainsword is unique and has special rules that define it in a manner that it is a special weapon, the S.C and the Power Fist are both S.W) you cannot use both in the same turn, and both must use the stats that they come with, stated by Platypus. So the Power Fist would not benefit from the +1 S from the Scorpion Chainsword.
Basically, ANY 2 Special Weapons = 2 Seperate Weapons = 1 Used in Assault Phase = 1 Stat for CC = 1 Not Used at ALL.
Hope this helps!
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Just to throw in that, historically, any time a special rule of some sort adds bonus Strength to the model (such as Furious Charge), any and all bonuses are added onto the stat after the doubling effect of the Power Fist or Klaw. The doubling effect only ever applies to the base stat, not bonuses. In the case of special weapons conferring special rules or bonuses, of course, the same rules discussed here apply; you have to choose one and only one type of special weapon to use in each combat phase, they will never stack nor can you ever split the attacks between the two unless a special rule states you can.